Simba SC 2-0 Coastal Union: Mnyama retain Tanzania Mainland League crown
Simba SC champions of Tanzania.
Simba SC.
The win takes Wekundu wa Msimbazi's league trophies to 22, five less than record-holders Yanga SC

Simba SC have successfully retained the Tanzania Mainland League crown after defeating Coastal Union 2-0 at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium, Dar es Salaam, on Sunday evening.

Captain John Bocco and Chris Mugalu scored a goal each to fire Mnyama to their fourth consecutive league title and their 22nd in history to send thousands of fans in the stadium to celebrations.

Having won the last meeting away 7-0 and with a healthy record of nine wins, five draws, and a loss in the 15 meetings between the sides, it was obvious the hosts were the favourites.

It was Simba who started the game on a high amid cheers from their fans and supporters at large.

Coastal Union goalkeeper Abubakari Abasi took a back-pass by his defender in the 14th minute and the referee had no option but to hand Mnyama an indirect free-kick. Clatous Chama cleverly set up Bocco whose shot was too much for the custodian.

Eight minutes later, Wekundu wa Msimbazi doubled their advantage, when David Kameta spotted Chris Mugalu making a run and he passed the ball to him. The towering attacker did well to round the goalkeeper before finding the back of the net.

Simba went into the half-time break with a two-goal advantage despite the numerous chances they had created in the first half.

In the second half, the Msimbazi Street-based charges resorted to cautious play to maintain their lead and eventually win the league.

With two matches to go, Simba are on 79 points while their closest challengers are Yanga SC who are on 70 and there is no way they can catch them.

Following their recent success, Mnyama will represent the country once again in the Caf Champions League with the team finishing second joining them.

Article continues below

The third-placed team, which is Azam FC as it stands, will play in Caf Confederation Cup alongside the team TFF will decide.

Usually, the FA Cup winner qualifies automatically, but this season, Simba and Yanga will clash in the final.

Simba XI: Beno Kakolanya, Gadiel Kamagi, Ame Mohamed, Chris Mugalu, Rally Bwalya, Luis Miquissone, Clatous Chama, Erasto Nyoni, John Bocco, Kennedy Juma, David Kameta

Subs: Aishi Manula, Taddeo Lwanga, Shomari Kapombe, Said Khamis, Meddie Kagere, Yassin Mzamiru, Hassan Dilunga

Coastal Union XI: Abubakari Abasi, Hassan Kibailo, Hance Masoud, Seif Bihaki, Pascal Kitenge, Salum Ally, Issa Abushehe, Rashid Chambo, Abdully Suleiman, Mtenje Albano, Haji Ugando

Subs: Hussein Abel, Ayoub Masoud, Nelson Haule, Frances Mustafa, Hamad Majimengi, Mudathir Said, Raizin Hafidh