AFC Leopards 2-1 Tusker FC: Brewers drowned by Ingwe in first outing
AFC Leopards striker Elvis Rupia vs Tusker.
AFC Leopards.
Ingwe came from a goal down to register their first three points over former champions at Kasarani on Saturday

AFC Leopards started their 2020/21 Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League campaign on a high after a 2-1 win over Tusker FC.

David Majak opened the scoring for the visitors before Robinson Kamura and Elvis Rupia struck back for the hosts.

The 13-time champions opted to start the game with former Kariobangi Sharks goalkeeper John Oyemba in goal, with Yusuf Maingi and Marvin Nabwire getting a chance as well. 

The likes of Fabrice Mugheni and Somobwana Omar started on the bench. 

For the Brewers, coach Robert Matano gave a chance to Emery Mvuyekure in goal, Hashim Sempala in midfield, and David Majak in the attack, hoping to get their first points of the season.

It was Ingwe who started the match well, attacking with every opportunity they got. Elvis Rupia had an effort punched out for what turned out to be a fruitless corner while Nabwire's effort was tipped over the bar by the goalkeeper.

However, a blunder in the midfield after 22 minutes allowed the Ruaraka-based side to steal the ball and Majak kept his cool to score his first goal of the season.

The goal did little to dent the host's ambition of getting a positive result from the game. In the 26th minute, they were back on level terms courtesy of defender Kamura.

The 11-time champions looked unsettled and struggled at times to get the better of Ingwe. 

It was no surprise when they conceded a penalty in the 34th minute and  Rupia capitalized on it to give his team a lead for the first time. 

Ingwe deservedly headed to the break with a lead as their opponents got a chance to re-organize themselves to put a better performance after the break.

Neither of the two teams could get a goal in the second half despite numerous changes, especially in the attacking department.

Starting XI: John Oyemba, Yusuf Mainge, Robinson Kamura, Clyde Senaji, Isaack Kipyegon, Austin Odhiambo, Said Tsuma, Marvin Nabwire, Jaffari Owiti, Elvis Rupia, Caleb Olilo

Article continues below

Subs: Ezekiel Owade, Harrison Mwendwa, Mugheni Fabrice, Omar Somobwana, Hansel Ochieng', Washington Munene

Tusker XI: Emery Mvuyekure, Wellington Ochieng', Sammy Meja, Eugene Asike, Christopher Oruchum, Hashim Sempala, Luke Namanda, Kevin Okoth, David Majak, Chrispinus Onyango, Boniface Muchiri.

Subs: Robert Mboya, Kevin Monyi, Rodgers Aloro, Apollo Otieno, Michael Madoya, Jackson Macharia, Sydney Ochieng'