Neymar snubbed for Champions League awards

The Brazilian and Kylian Mbappe have missed out on the shortlist for UEFA's awards for the best player in each position in the Champions League

New Paris Saint-Germain signing Neymar has failed to make the shortlist for UEFA's Champions League positional awards for 2016-17.

The Brazil star, who completed his world-record €222million move from Barcelona on Thursday, has been beaten to a place among the final three nominees for best forward by Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Paulo Dybala.

Monaco sensation Kylian Mbappe also missed out on a place on the final list, despite excelling in his side's run to the semi-finals.

Mbappe came fourth in the voting, ahead of Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski in fifth and Neymar in sixth.

Champions League winners Real Madrid dominate the shortlist, with six players making up the final 12 nominees.

The awards recognise the top performers in each position in the tournament, with the players with the most votes from a special jury making up the shortlist.

Coaches of the 32 clubs in the 2016-17 group stage, along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group representing each of UEFA's member associations, made up the panel. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own teams.

Meanwhile, Manchester United provide the final three nominees for the Europa League Player of the Season.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who left the club at the end of his contract, Henrikh Mkhitaryan and Paul Pogba are the candidates for the prize after winning the highest number of votes.

Mkhitaryan and Pogba scored the goals when United won the final against Ajax in May.

The awards will be given at the ceremony for the UEFA Men's and Women's Player of the Year prizes on August 15.


Shortlisted players for Champions League positional awards:

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid).

Article continues below

Defender: Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, now AC Milan), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid).

Midfielder: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Real Madrid).

Forward: Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).

Next article:
JSSL's Venetia Tan shows off her keepy-uppy skills
Next article:
Jamaica qualifies to Women's World Cup for first time after beating Panama in penalty shootout
Next article:
West Ham sweat on Arthur Masuaku’s fitness ahead of London derby
Next article:
MLS Playoffs: How Portland and Seattle can clinch postseason spots midweek
Next article:
Witsel to Dortmund is signing of the season, says Belgium boss Martinez