News Live Scores
World Cup

Renard opts against VAR blast despite Spain snatching controversial point off Morocco

23:49 BST 25/06/2018
Morocco coach Herve Renard
Despite seeing his side cruelly denied a 2-1 win by a marginal offside decision, the Frenchman decided not to launch another tirade against officials

Morocco coach Herve Renard opted not to continue his rants about refereeing despite being denied a famous World Cup win against Spain by a late VAR call.

Although Renard's men could not qualify from Group B after losing their first two matches, they were on track for a 2-1 victory heading into stoppage-time.

However, substitute Iago Aspas turned in Dani Carvajal's cross, VAR allowing the goal after a long delay, the assistant having previously raised his flag for offside.

Renard was furious after decisions went against his side in a defeat to Portugal, claiming Morocco's subsequent Russia 2018 exit was "unfair".

But the Morocco coach took a more sanguine attitude towards refereeing after his side's spirited performance in Kaliningrad.

"It is difficult to be a referee," Renard told reporters. "I said what I wanted to say after the previous match and now I think we have to get focused and concentrate on what is the most important thing: the result.

"We would have loved to win, it's why we came here tonight. We suffered just like any team that plays them. When you look at their line-up it's a mix of Barcelona and Real Madrid, so these are exceptional, outstanding players. Our players should be commended, the whole team should be commended for this World Cup.

"It's 20 years since we went to a World Cup and we need some experience to progress. But we've shown we can take on two of the best teams in the world, Portugal and Spain, and we came to represent Morocco in a World Cup."

Referee Ravshan Irmatov booked six Morocco players in an often fractious contest, three of those yellow cards awarded in a three-minute first-half spell.

But Renard felt Gerard Pique should have been punished for a lunge on goalscorer Khalid Boutaib, the Spain defender also appearing to handle the ball in the box without a penalty being awarded, the coach also questioning the passage of play that led to Aspas' 91st-minute leveller.

"Regarding the various yellow cards, I think a number of cards were committed that did deserve a yellow card, but maybe not all of them," Renard said. "We were a bit upset that Pique was not booked when he used both feet but maybe this is not the most important aspect.

"The only question I'd like to raise is on the second equalising goal, we expect a corner on one side and it's played on the other side. I can't say if this is allowed. If it is not allowed then there is a major mistake.

"If it is allowed, we checked [the offside call] with VAR so we won't challenge, but are we allowed to use a corner to take it on one hand when the ball went out on the other?

"I checked with the referees but their door was closed."