News Live Scores

Kariobangi Sharks' forward Erick Kapaito crowned 2018 KPL Most Valuable Player

18:55 BST 25/10/2018
Kapaito beat stiff opposition from Mathare United's Cliff Nyakeya and Felly Mulumba for the MVP gong

Erick Papaito scooped three awards on the night that saw the Kenyan Premier League champions, Gor Mahia again plays second fiddle to Kariobangi Sharks, during the annual KPL Night Gala held on Thursday.

Sharks beat Gor Mahia in the FKF Shield quarter-final and Kapaito exploit for William Muluya side denied Jacques Tuyisenge the Golden Boot

And on a chilly evening at the Kenya School of Government in Kabete, once again Sharks dominated the rough waters before the record Kenyan champions.

Kapaito crowned the evening with the league’s Most Valuable Player award to add to the Golden Boot and the Fair Play Player of the Year Awards.

K’Ogalo, who won a 17th KPL title could only manage the to take the Coach of the year after Dylan Kerr tallied ahead of Ulinzi’s Dunstan Nyaudo and Sofapaka’s John Baraza; and the Fair Play team of the Year.

For the MVP gong, Kapaito beat stiff opposition from Mathare United's Cliff Nyakeya, who took the Midfielder of the year and Bandaris Felly Mulumba, who went home with the Defender of the Year trophy.

With the three awards, Kapaito walked home with Sh1.7 million in cash.

Full list of Awards

Most Valuable Player: Erick Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks.

Golden Boot: Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks), Elvis Rupia- (Nzoia Sugar) Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Farouk Shikalo (Bandari), Patrick Matasi  (Tusker), Kelvin Omondi (SoNy Sugar)

Defender of the Year: Felly Mulumba(Bandari), Titus Achesa (Posta Rangers)

Midfielder of the Year: Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars), Michael Madoya (Zoo)

New Player of the Year: Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks), Marvin Nabwire (AFC Leopards), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka)

Fair Play Player of Year: Michael Madoya (Zoo), Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks), Felly Mulumba (Bandari)

Fair Play Club of the Year: Gor Mahia, Sofapaka, Kariobangi Sharks

Team Manager of the Year: Vincent Okello, Christopher Ouma, Lazarus Yogo

Most Improved Centre Referee:  Davies Omweno, Onyango Raymon, Badr Yassin

Most Improved Assistant Referee: Gilbert Cheruiyot, Maryanne Njoroge, Oliver Odhiambo