News Live Scores
Kaizer Chiefs

Kaizer Chiefs move Caf Confederation Cup clash to Port Elizabeth

17:26 GMT 19/11/2018
Kaizer Chiefs & Orlando Pirates fans, October 2018
Amakhosi have confirmed their decision to host their first leg preliminary qualifier to the Eastern Cape

Kaizer Chiefs recently confirmed that their upcoming Caf Confederation Cup clash against Zanzibar’s Zimamoto will be played in Port Elizabeth.

Chiefs were most recently forced to move their Telkom Knockout semi-final clash against Orlando Pirates to Durban after the FNB Stadium was unavailable, and Chiefs have now decided to also move their continental clash away from Johannesburg.

Chiefs are once again back on the African safari after ending the previous campaign in third.

Alongside Free State Stars, who earned the right to participate in the tournament by virtue of winning the Nedbank Cup, Chiefs will hope to reach the group stages of the second tier continental competition.

Nonetheless, Chiefs will also peg their hopes on the Eastern Cape crowd coming out in their numbers as they look to overcome Zimamoto in the first leg of their preliminary stage qualifier.

Kaizer Chiefs will in their CAF Confederation Cup host Zanzibar’s Zimamoto in Port Elizabeth at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium,” a statement issued on Chiefs’ website read.

“The much-awaited preliminary stage 1st Leg encounter is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, November 28. Kickoff is at 19:30,” he said.

The Nelson Mandela Stadiium has been used primarily by Chippa United this season but is now set to host two high-profile encounters.

Aside from the continental clash, the stadium will also host the eagerly anticipated Telkom Knockout final, and Chiefs will want to return to the same venue as they look to end their three-year trophy drought.

But before, Chiefs can think of silverware, they will first need to book their place in the final this weekend when they come up against arch rivals Orlando Pirates.

The last time these two sides met was in the league, and it was Pirates who walked away with bragging rights, courtesy of a 2-1 win.