ISL vs I-League: East Bengal beat Jamshedpur FC 3-1 in pre-season friendly

Last updated
The Red and Golds from Kolkata outclassed the 'Men of Steel' as Mehtab Hossain faced his old club in Jamshedpur...

I-League giants East Bengal defeated Indian Super League (ISL) newbies Jamshedpur FC 3-1 in a pre-season friendly match on Friday at the Tata Football Academy (TFA) ground in Jamshedpur, Jharkhand.

Mahmoud Al Amna and Surabuddin Mullick scored for the away team and Jamshedpur FC's Yumnam Raju scored an own goal. Izu Azuka scored the only goal for the home side.

East Bengal coach Khalid Jamil fielded his team in a 4-1-4-1 formation with Willis Plaza upfront. Laldanmawia Ralte and Brandon Vanlalremdika started on the flanks and Mahmoud Al Amna and Katsumi Yusa were deployed in the central midfield. The coach made a few changes in the defence. Deepak Kumar and Mehtab Singh started ful-backs while Gurwinder Singh partnered Eduardo Ferreira in central defence.

Steve Coppell's team lined up in a 4-2-3-1 formation with the Nigerian Azuka the lone striker upfront. Youngsters Jerry Mawihmingthanga and Siddharth Singh started on the wingers with Trinidade Goncalves as the attacking midfielder operating just behind Azuka. Tiri partnered Andre Bikey in the central defence.

Star midfielder Al Amna broke the deadlock by scoring the opening goal for the Red and Golds , but within few minutes they conceded a penalty. Izu Azuka scored from the penalty spot to restore parity. The scoreline remained 1-1 at the end of halftime.

In the second half substitute, Raju Yumnam scored an own goal to gift East Bengal the lead. The away side confirmed their victory in the 88th minute when Surabuddin Mullick netted their third goal.

East Bengal registered their second consecutive win in pre-season after their victory against FC Goa last week. The back to back wins might prove to be a morale booster for the Kolkata giants ahead of I-League.

East Bengal starting XI:  Mirshad. K; Mehtab Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Eduardo Ferreira, Deepak Kumar; Armand Bazzou; Laldanmawia Ralte, Mahmoud Al Amna, Katsumi Yusa, Brandon Vanlalremdika; Willis Plaza.

Article continues below

Jamshedpur FC starting XI:  Sanjiban Ghosh; Souvik Chakraborty, Tiri, Andre Bikey, Robin Gurung; Memo, Mehtab Hossain; Siddharth Singh, Trinidade Goncalves, Jerry Mawihmingthanga; Izu Azuka.



Next article:
Mendez shines as U.S. Under-20s continue Concacaf domination
Next article:
Arsenal confirm discussions over Super League, but insist they won't abandon Premier League
Next article:
Southgate rallies England ahead of Nations League decider
Next article:
Manchester United and Leeds to face off during Australian pre-season tour
Next article:
Chile 2 Costa Rica 3: Waston brace sinks La Roja