News Live Scores
African All Stars

Florentin Pogba: Brother of Manchester United star recalled to Guinea squad

12:07 BST 03/10/2019
Florentin Pogba Genclerbirligi
The Atlanta United centre-back is set to feature for the Syli Nationale for the first time since 2017

Newly-appointed Guinea coach Didier Six has named Florentin Pogba in his 23-man squad to face Comoros and Chile on October 12 and 15, respectively.

The French coach, whose appointment was confirmed in September, picked the Atlanta United defender for the friendlies which will mark his return to the Syli Nationale since June 2017.

Florentin, the older brother of Manchester United midfielder Paul, has been capped 21 times for the West African nation.

The trio of Ibrahima Conte, Soumah Seydouba and Ibrahima Sory Sankhon also return following their prolonged absences from the national team.

Regular pair of fit-again Naby Keita, as well as Napoli’s Amadou Diawara, have been included in the 23-man group, while Jules Keita, Antoine Conte and Elie Ouendeno could be set for their Guinea debuts this month.

Notable omissions from Six’s first squad are Ibrahima Traore, Sadio Diallo, Mohamed Aly Camara, Ibrahima Cisse and Ibrahima Sory Conte.

Six has been appointed with the mandate to lead Guinea to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations finals and the 2022 Fifa World Cup in Qatar.

The West Africans have been drawn in Group A for the Afcon qualifiers alongside Mali, Namibia and Liberia or Chad.

They face West African neighbours Mali on November 11 to start their qualifying campaign.

Guinea squad:

Goalkeepers: Aly Keita (Ostersunds, Sweden), Moussa Camara (Horoya), Elie Ouendeno (Haifa)

Defenders: Florentin Pogba (Atlanta United, USA), Issiaga Sylla (Toulouse FC, France), Ernest Seka (Nancy, France), Augustin Simon Falette (Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany), Pa Konate (GIF Sundsvall, Sweden), Julian Jeanvier (Brendford, England), Antoine Conte (Petar Jerusalem, Israel)

Midfielders: Amadou Diawara (Napoli, Italy), Ibrahima Sory Conte (Beroe, Bulgaria), Naby Keita (Liverpool, England), Baissama Sankoh (Caen, France), Mady Camara (Olympiakos, Greece)

Forwards: Francois Kamano (Bordeaux, France), Mohamed Yattara (Auxerre, France), Sory Kaba (FC Midtjylland, Denmark), Demba Camara (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Seydouba Soumah (Partizan Belgrade, Serbia), Jules Keita (Lens, France), Alhassane Bangoura (Vancouver White Caps, Canada)