Who did Low, Southgate & the top coaches vote for in the Best FIFA Men's Player award?

The England manager chose Cristiano Ronaldo for the top prize while his Germany counterpart picked a familiar face

Germany coach Joachim Low chose compatriot Toni Kroos for the Best FIFA Men's Player award, while England's Gareth Southgate voted for eventual winner Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ronaldo claimed the award for the second straight year Tuesday in London, edging fellow finalists Lionel Messi and Neymar. Following the ceremony, FIFA released a list of the players each voter chose for the prize. The voting contingent consisted of the national team captain, the national team coach and a journalist from every territory that fields a side on the international level.

Ronaldo 15/8 fav to be CL top scorer

Article continues below

Each voter selected a player for first place, second place and third place, with the recipients getting five points for a first-place vote, three points for second place and one point for third.

Several coaches opted to join Low in voting for their own players, with Argentina's Jorge Sampaoli choosing Messi, Belgium's Roberto Martinez picking Eden Hazard, Spain's Julen Lopetegui going with Sergio Ramos and Portugal's Fernando Santos tabbing Ronaldo.


Voter First Second Third
Jorge Sampaoli Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Marcelo
Ange Postecoglou Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Gianluigi Buffon
Robert Prosinecki Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric
Roberto Martinez Eden Hazard Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric
Marcello Lippi Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric Gianluigi Buffon
Jose Pekerman Lionel Messi Luka Modric Robert Lewandowski
Ante Cacic Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric Lionel Messi
Hector Cuper Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
Gareth Southgate Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric Toni Kroos
Didier Deschamps Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar Gianluigi Buffon
Joachim Low Toni Kroos Manuel Neuer Neymar
Carlos Queiroz Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
Giampiero Ventura Cristiano Ronaldo Gianluigi Buffon Lionel Messi
Juan Carlos Osorio Cristiano Ronaldo Arturo Vidal Marcelo
Herve Renard Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
Dick Advocaat Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
Michael O'Neill Cristiano Ronaldo Eden Hazard N'Golo Kante
Fernando Santos Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric Lionel Messi
Martin O'Neill Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Eden Hazard
Gordon Strachan Luka Modric N'Golo Kante Lionel Messi
Julen Lopetegui Sergio Ramos Dani Carvajal Andres Iniesta
Mircea Lucescu Lionel Messi Sergio Ramos Luka Modric
Andriy Shevchenko Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Gianluigi Buffon
Oscar Tabarez Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Luis Suarez
Bruce Arena Cristiano Ronaldo Luka Modric Eden Hazard
Chris Coleman Sergio Ramos Luka Modric Harry Kane

Next article:
We Are Young Bafana: Simba’s first step towards a professional soccer career
Next article:
Real Salt Lake boosts playoff chances with big win over New England
Next article:
Pardoned Fatau Dauda returns to training with Enyimba
Next article:
Caf selects two Nigerian referees for Africa Women’s Cup of Nations
Next article:
Usman Abdallah applauds Enyimba slim win over Feeder team