Belgium vs England team news: Lukaku & Kane both start in World Cup third-place playoff

Getty Images
While the Three Lions have made five changes to the team that lost to Croatia, Belgium boss Roberto Martinez has gone for a full strength attack

Harry Kane and Romelu Lukaku will both start in the World Cup third-place playoff between England and Belgium on Saturday.

The two are in competition for the Golden Boot while they look to lead their respective sides to the bronze medal at the tournament.

England star Kane leads the goal chart with six goals from his five appearances, while Belgium attacker Lukaku is two behind him.

England manager Gareth Southgate has made five changes to the team that started their semi-final defeat to Croatia. Kyle Walker, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Dele Alli and Ashley Young have been left out, while Phil Jones, Danny Rose, Eric Dier, Fabian Delph and Ruben-Loftus Cheek coming in.

Southgate's selection means that goalkeeper Jordan Pickford and centre-back John Stones are the only Three Lions players to start all seven of their side's matches in Russia - only the former has played every minute so far.

Belgium, on the other hand, have gone with a full-strength attack featuring Lukaku, Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne.

Mousa Dembele and Marouane Fellaini are the only changes to Roberto Martinez's starting XI against France, with Thomas Meunier and Youri Tielemans replacing them.

The Rode Duivels are looking to record their best ever finish at a World Cup, having previously finished fourth in 1986 - losing the playoff to France.

England, meanwhile, last reached this stage in 1990, when they lost to 2-1 to Italy.

Belgium XI: Courtois, Alderweireld, Kompany, Vertonghen, Meunier, Tielemans, Witsel, Chadli, De Bruyne, Hazard, Lukaku;

Article continues below

Substitutes: Mignolet, Casteels, Vermaelen, Boyata, Dendoncker, Fellaini, Dembele, Carrasco, T. Hazard, Mertens, Januzaj, Batshuayi.

England XI: Pickford, Trippier, Stones, Maguire, Jones, Rose, Dier, Delph, Loftus-Cheek, Sterling, Kane;

Substitutes: Walker, Lingard, Henderson, Vardy, Butland, Welbeck, Cahill, Young, Rashford, Dele Alli, Alexander-Arnold, Pope.

Next article:
Valverde not worried about Levante's Copa appeal
Next article:
Atletico Madrid confirm MRI for Saul after thigh injury
Next article:
Gerrard confirms Rangers offer long-term contract to Polster
Next article:
What is a dive in football? Players who do it, techniques & punishments
Next article:
'My influence was zero' - Mourinho pays tribute to retiring Cech