Adrian Mierzejewski wins Johnny Warren medal as Julie Dolan shared

Adrian Mierzejewski Sydney FC
And the winners are...

Red-hot favourite and Sydney FC star Adrian Mierzejewski has taken out the 2017/18 Johnny Warren medal for best player in the A-League finished 11 points clear of Dimitri Petratos and Leroy George.

In the W-League, the Julie Dolan medal was shared between Claire Polkinghorne and Sam Kerr with the pair both pulling in 17 votes.

Mierzejewski finished his first season in the A-League with 13 goals and nine assists from just 25 appearances.

In his final game of the season, Mierzejewski set up both of Sydney FC's goals in a 3-2 loss to Melbourne Victory and broke an A-League record for most duels in a match since the stat has been recorded by Opta.

Prior to claiming the award, the Polish winger was quick to pay tribute to his teammates and even believes last season's Johnny Warren medalist Milos Ninkovic remains the best in the competition. 

"All Sydney FC players were great," Mierzejewski said.

"Milos I think is still the best player in the A-League."

Adrian Mierzejewski/ Milos Ninkovic

Mierzejewski expressed his disappointment at seeing Sky Blues coach Graham Arnold bow out as club coach having been appointed to the Socceroos top job after the World Cup. 

"It was sad news for me, I came here because of him," he said.

"I wish him all the best."

The Polish winger has featured 41 times for his country scoring three goals and after a stellar season isn't beyond the realms of a possible call-up.

Having not featured for his nation since 2014 however, a World Cup cameo isn't on Mierzejewski's mind though he still holds out some hope. 

Article continues below

"To be honest I don't think about that," he said.

"I think in two or three weeks the coach will put out the list and we'll see. I still have hope, maybe one percent."

Elsewhere on the night: Jamie Young won A-League Goalkeeper of the Year, Daniel Arzani won Young A-League Player of the Year, Ellie Carpenter won Young W-League Player of the Year, Andrew Nabbout won A-League Goal of the Year, Lisa De Vanna won W-League Goal of the Year, Bobo took out Golden Boot and Graham Arnold won Coach of the Year.