News Live Scores

REVEALED: Who Messi & Ronaldo voted for to win the FIFA Best Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo voted for three Real Madrid players to win the FIFA Best Player of the Year award, with Lionel Messi following suit and selecting a trio of Barcelona stars.

The Portugal captain gave Gareth Bale the honour of his top pick, with Luka Modric second and Sergio Ramos claiming his third vote.

FIFA approves 48-team World Cup

Messi, meanwhile, voted for Andres Iniesta, Neymar and Luis Suarez, with the Uruguayan receiving the full five points that is awarded for being a player's top pick.

National team managers, captains and members of the media are eligible to vote for the FIFA Best Player of the Year award, with Cristiano Ronaldo coming out on top at the ceremony in Zurich on Monday.

Madrid sensation Ronaldo, who was also crowned Ballon d'Or winner for a fourth time in December, claimed 34.54 per cent of the total vote, with Messi receiving 26.42% in second place.

Atletico Madrid star Antoine Griezmann, meanwhile, finished in third after claiming 7.53% of the votes, with the likes of France skipper Hugo Lloris and Georgia captain Jaba Kankava the only players to give him the full five points.