News Live Scores

Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni includes eight uncapped players in summer training camp squad

Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has handed a chance to eight uncapped players to impress, naming them in a 23-man squad for training camp in the summer.

Everton defender Shane Duffy could earn his first cap, as well as Portsmouth defender Marc Wilson and Paul Green of Derby County, while Sunderland’s David Meyler has earned his first call-up.

Kevin Foley and Stephen Ward of Wolverhampton Wanderers, Birmingham City’s Keith Fahey and Ipswich Town goalkeeper Brian Murphy make up the rest of the uncapped player.

Remaining squad members will join up with the rest of the group ahead of friendlies against Paraguay and Algeria on May 25th and 28th respectively, but Trapattoni is looking forward to working with the team’s new players.

He told Press Association Sport: "Training camps are useful for preparation as was proven by the one we held prior to our World Cup qualifying campaign.

"I look forward to working with these new players and learning firsthand what they have to offer as we begin to prepare for the European Championship qualifiers."

23-man squad named for summer training camp:

Goalkeepers: Keiren Westwood, Joe Murphy, Brian Murphy.

Defenders: Stephen Kelly, Eddie Nolan, Paul McShane, Shane Duffy, Kevin Foley, Stephen Ward, Marc Wilson, Darren O'Dea.

Midfielders: Keith Treacy, Darron Gibson, Andy Keogh, James McCarthy, Liam Lawrence, David Meyler, Keith Fahey, Paul Green.

Strikers: Caleb Folan, Leon Best, Shane Long, Anthony Stokes.

Become a fan of UK's Facebook fan page for all the latest news and insight into everything related to the beautiful game!