AFC Leopards 0-0 Ulinzi Stars: Soldiers hold Ingwe
Ingwe registered a barren draw against Ulinzi Stars on Wednesday

AFC Leopards battled to a 0-0 draw against Ulinzi Stars in a league catch-up match played on Wednesday at Machakos County Stadium.

The Stewart Hall coached outfit went to the match from two straight wins and all their eyes were raised for another victory.

Ulinzi Stars had the same expectations having won their first league match against Kariobangi Sharks over the weekend.

However, the 90+ minutes of the encounter bore no fruit for either side seeing AFC Leopards walk home with a point which catapulted them past Bandari FC to the top of the table.

AFC Leopards vow to lift Premier League title unbeaten

Goal keeper Ian Otieno, defender Robinson Kamura, midfielder Allan Kateregga (who got into the referee’s book amidst the match) and striker Gilbert Fiamenyo were instrumental for the hosts with periodical attempts which scared Ulinzi Stars custodian James Saruni. 

In the 35th minute, Ulinzi Stars defender Geoffrey Kokoyo denied Gilbert Fiamenyo a glorious chance moments after the Ghanaian striker beat the off-side trap.

Ingwe knocked again five minutes later with the same man (Fiamenyo) behind the ball but this time round Mohammed ‘Rio’ Hassan was quick to clear the danger going into the breather at a 0-0 stalemate.

Second half was almost a replica of the first stanza with both sides pushing hard in search of at least a goal to no avail.

Cliff Kasuti was handing Ulinzi Stars victory in the 80th minute were it not for a superb save by keeper Ian Otieno. Kasuti had found a scoring opportunity but his header landed on Otieno’s hands.

AFC Leopards: Ian Otieno, Robinson Kamura, Dennis Sikhayi, Marcus Abwao, Salim Abdalla, Allan Kateregga, Duncan Otieno, Benard Mang’oli, Whyvonne Isuzza, Marcellus Ingotsi, Gilbert Fiamenyo

Article continues below

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Joshua Mawira, Yakubu Ramadhan, Mike Kibwage, Andrew Tololwa, Ibrahim Mao, Harun Nyakha.

Ulinzi Stars: James Saruni, Brian Birgen, Geoffrey Kokoyo, Mohamed Hassan, Oliver Rutto, Boniface Onyango, John Kago, Stephen Ochollah, Daniel Waweru, Evans Amwoka, Samuel Onyango

Subs: Odhiambo Finius, Alex Masinde, Benson Sande, Churchill Muloma, Clif Kasuti, Enosh Ochieng’.

Comments ()