Puskas Award 2017: Nominees, videos & voting for the goal of the year

Comments (0)
Olivier Giroud Arsenal
Getty Images
Arsenal star Olivier Giroud is among the stars in contention to be the scorer of the best goal over the past year

The final three nominees for the 2017 Puskas Award for the best goal scored over the past year have been confirmed.

Ten spectacular efforts were initially up for the prize, with the likes of Manchester United's Nemanja Matic among those in contention, but the nominees have been whittled down.

Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud faces competition from Venezuela women's team starlet Deyna Castellanos and Baroka goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke.

The Puskas Award — named after legendary Real Madrid and Hungary striker Ferenc Puskas — has also shined a light on some lesser-known players, though, with Mohd Faiz Subri of Malaysian club Penang the reigning champion.

Goal has everything you need to know about this year's contenders and voting process.


Ronaldo Mohd Faiz Subri Puskas Award

The Puskas Award is a FIFA award given to the player judged to have scored the best goal of the past year.

For the 2017 award, the period of eligibility is goals scored between October 1, 2016 to July 2, 2017.

The award is supposed to reward the best goal scored "regardless of championship, gender or nationality" and the initial shortlist of 10 goals is decided by a group of experts — which this year comprises of Alan Shearer, Celia Sasic, Abby Wambach, Henrik Larsson and Predrag Mijatovic.

The public then votes to decide a winner.


The first part of the voting process was open until the beginning of October and fans were able to cast their votes on FIFA's official website.

The top three was chosen based on the votes that have been submitted up to this point.

A second vote has now opened to decide the winner. That vote will close on the day of the ceremony itself (October 23).


Cristiano Ronaldo Carli Lloyd FIFA Awards

The winner will be announced on Monday, October 23 at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London.

This is also when the prizes such as the Men's Player of the Year — which Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar are in the running for — will be presented.

You can find our complete guide to the The Best FIFA Awards here.


FIFA unveiled a list of 10 nominees in September, which was whittled down to a final three n October 9.

The final three nominees are Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud, South African goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke and Venezuela international Deyna Castellanos.

You can watch the top three strikes below.

Olivier Giroud

Deyna Castellanos

Oscarine Masuluke

You can also check out the remaining seven nominees that failed to make the final cut below.

Kevin-Prince Boateng

Alejandro Camargo

Aviles Hurtado

Moussa Dembele

Mario Mandzukic

Nemanja Matic

Jordi Mboula