News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations Qualification

Captain Yacouba Sylla left out of Mali squad to face Burundi in Afcon qualifiers

16:49 WAT 05/10/2018
Yacouba Sylla of Mali and Mohamed Salah of Egypt
The skipper has not been a regular for his Belgian lower tier club Mechelen and is also struggling to retain his place in the national team

Mali captain Yacouba Sylla has been left out of the squad to face Burundi in 2019 Afcon qualifiers home and away next week.

The 27-year-old midfielder has been struggling for consistency at his club Mechelen.

Mali coach Mohamed Magassouba has also dropped midfielder Adama Traore who is battling for game time at Monaco.

There is also no place for West Bromwich Albion new signing Bakary Sako.

Len’s 18-year-old midfielder Cheick Doucoure has been handed a debut call together with Le Havre forward Alimani Gory.

Returning to the squad are Las Palmas winger Hadi Sacko and Lassana Coulibaly of Scottish side Rangers.

Regulars including Brighton and Hove’s Yves Bissouma, FC Porto striker Moussa Marega, Sporting Lisbon forward Abdoulaye Diaby and defender Salif Coulibaly of Al-Ahly have been retained.

Mali enjoy a 100 percent record on top of Group C with six points.

They host Burundi next Friday, before travelling for the return fixture to be played four days later in Bujumbura.


Mali squad

Goalkeepers: Djigui Diarra (Stade Malien), Adama Keita (Djoliba), Mamadou Samassa (Troyes, France), Oumar Sissoko (Le Havre, France)

Defenders: Hamari Traoré (Stade Rennais, France), Falaye Sacko (Guimarães, Portugal), Charles Traoré (Nantes, France), Molla Wagué (Udinese, Italy), Mamadou Fofana (Metz, France), Salif Coulibaly (Al Ahly, Egypt)

Midfielders: Diadié Samassekou and Amadou Haidara ( both Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Yves Bissouma (Brighton and Hove, England), Souleymane Diarra and Cheick Doucouré (both Lens, France), Sambou Yatabaré (Royal Antiwerp , Belgium), Lassana Coulibaly (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Moussa Djenepo (Standard Liège, Belgium), Moussa Doumbia (Stade Reims, France), Moussa Marega (FC Porto, Portugal), Abdoulaye Diaby (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal), Adama Traoré (Metz, France), Alimani Gory (Le Havre, France), Hadi Sacko (Las Palmas, Spain), Kalifa Coulibaly (Nantes, France)