News Live Scores

Ibrahimovic, Villa & Giovinco headline MLS All-Star roster

17:37 WAT 29/06/2018
Zlatan Ibrahimovic LA Galaxy 2018
The squad will take on Juventus on Aug. 1 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, David Villa and Sebastian Giovinco were just three of the names headlining the star-studded MLS All-Star roster announced on Friday. 

The MLS All-Stars will take on Juventus on Aug. 1 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. 

Fans selected the starting XI, which was comprised of six players from hometown Atlanta United before midfielder Darlington Nagbe had to pull out due to injury. 

Atlanta United manager Gerardo "Tata" Martino selected 14 more players for the squad, with commissioner Don Garber making two additional picks: Vancouver's teenage sensation Alphonso Davies and the New York Red Bulls' prolific forward Bradley Wright-Phillips.

The roster features five players who have represented their country at the 2018 World Cup: Francisco Calvo of Costa Rica, Panama's Michael Murillo, Jonathan dos Santos and Carlos Vela from Mexico, and Peru's Yoshimar Yotun.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan^ (Atlanta United), Zack Steffen* (Columbus Crew SC)
Defenders: Francisco Calvo* (Minnesota United), Laurent Ciman^ (Los Angeles Football Club), Matt Hedges* (FC Dallas), Aaron Long* (New York Red Bulls), Michael Murillo* (New York Red Bulls), Michael Parkhurst^ (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi^ (Sporting Kansas City)
Midfielders: Miguel Almiron^ (Atlanta United), Ezequiel Barco^ (Atlanta United), Jonathan dos Santos* (LA Galaxy), Alberth Elis* (Houston Dynamo), Ignacio Piatti* (Montreal Impact), Alexander Ring* (New York City FC), Ilie Sanchez* (Sporting Kansas City), Diego Valeri^ (Portland Timbers), Yoshimar Yotun* (Orlando City SC), Wilfried Zahibo* (New England Revolution), Alphonso Davies# (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Forwards: Sebastian Giovinco* (Toronto FC), Zlatan Ibrahimovic^ (LA Galaxy), Josef Martinez^ (Atlanta United), Carlos Vela^ (Los Angeles Football Club), David Villa* (New York City FC), Bradley Wright-Phillips# (New York Red Bulls)
^Fan XI selection
*Gerardo “Tata” Martino selection
#Commissioner Don Garber selection