History of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup: Part 2

Comments (0)
FIFA U17 World Cup
Goal examines the history of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup in a two-part series.....

India is all set to host it's first FIFA tournament when the Under-17 World Cup kicks off just under two months from now with 24 teams from across the globe competing across six venues in India for the final to be played in the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on October 26.

Goal continues to examine the history of the prestigious youth tournament ever since its inception in 1985 to the current day in a two-part series.

After covering the history of the tournament till 2005 in the first part, we look at the hisory post that in our second and final part.

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017: Fans' opportunity to feast their eyes on the trophy

History of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup (From 2007): 

Toni Kroos Germany

Year Hosts Winners Runners-Up Famous players No.of teams
2007 South Korea Nigeria Spain Toni Kroos,Danny Welbeck, Maicon, Victor Moses 24
2009 Nigeria Switzerland Nigeria Neymar, Isco, Alvaro Morata, Granit Xhaka 24
2011 Mexico Mexico Uruguay Raheem Sterling,Emre Can, Lucas Piazon, Nathaniel Chalobah 24
2013 UAE Nigeria Mexico Kelechi Iheanacho, Leonardo Suarez, Gabriel Boschilia, Nathan 24
2015 Chile Nigeria Mali Johannes Eggestien, Victor Osimhen,Dante Rigo, Luis Henrique 24
2017 India TBD TBD TBD 24

Raheem Sterling Man City FA Cup

Article continues below

Most successful countries in the history of the competition:

Nigeria will U17 World Cup 2015

No. Country Winners Runners-Up
1 Nigeria 5 3
2 Brazil 3 2
3 Ghana 2 2
4 Mexico 2 1