News Live Scores

Xulu and Abraw lead list of seven players released by Kaizer Chiefs

17:24 GMT+3 13/06/2017
Siyanda Xulu Kaizer Chiefs 19032017
Amakhosi confirmed on Tuesday that at least six players will be leaving the club permanently, while Katsvairo will be loaned out next term

Kaizer Chiefs have announced the departure of seven players as their plans for next season begin to take shape. 

Siyanda Xulu and Camaldine Abraw headline the list of players who will not form part of Steve Komphela's plans for next season. 

Lucky Baloyi and Lewis Macha have also been released by the club, while Enocent Mkhabela will be allowed to join Platinum Stars on a permanent basis. 

Zimbabwean attacker Michelle Katsvairo will be loaned out for the upcoming season, while Siphelele Mthembu's contract will not be renewed beyond June 30, 2017.

Football manager Bobby Motaung said the main reason behind releasing the aforementioned players was due to their lack of game time last season. 

“These players have contracts with the club but they did not enjoy sufficient game time during last season and we felt it would be in their best interests as well as ours for them to pursue their careers elsewhere,” Motaung told the Amakhosi website.

“We have decided to revamp the squad early so that when we commence pre-season training we prepare ourselves adequately for the tough season ahead,” said Motaung.

“We owe it to our supporters to ensure that the events of the past two seasons are not repeated in the 2017/18 campaign,” said the Amakhosi boss.

Motaung revealed that the club will announce new signings in due course. 

“We will be making announcements in due course with regards to the new players that we will welcome into the Kaizer Chiefs family.” concluded Motaung.