When is the FA Cup third round draw? Everything you need to know

Comments (0)
Aaron Ramsey Arsenal FA Cup 2017
Premier League clubs will go into the hat for the draw as they gear up for the prestigious competition in the new year

The FA Cup second round is due to take place this coming weekend, with 20 ties set to be contested to decide who progresses to the next stage.

Dabblebet's FA Cup odds here

Those 20 successful teams will enter the third round of the competition, where they will be joined by 64 new entrants, as they all strive towards winning England's most prestigious cup competition.

With the third round draw just around the corner, Goal takes a look at everything you need to know.


FA Cup general

The FA Cup third round draw will take place on Monday, December 4.

It will be held following the conclusion of the second round fixtures, which take place across the preceding weekend and wrap up on Monday evening.

We do not know the exact details of who will conduct the draw, but the second round draw was conducted by former Manchester United striker Andrew Cole and ex-Bolton forward Kevin Davies.


The third round draw will be shown live on BT Sport 1 as part of the channel's coverage of the last second round match between Slough Town and Rochdale.

If the second round draw is any indication, it will take place prior to that game kicking off, so before 19:45.

If you do not have access to a television, you can follow the draw live on the official FA Cup Twitter and Goal will also provide coverage.


Daley Blind Ander Herrera Marcos Rojo Manchester United FA Cup 2016

The likes of Manchester United, Arsenal and Liverpool enter the competition at this stage with the 44 Premier League and Championship clubs joining the 20 winners from the second round.

As such, a total of 64 clubs will be in the hat for the draw, meaning there will be 32 ties.

When do the FA Cup third round matches take place?

The FA Cup third round is due to take place on Saturday, January 6, 2018, so there will be a wait of over a month before the teams face off.

It is worth noting that not all games will necessarily occur on that exact date, with fixtures liable to be moved in order to facilitate television schedules.

Therefore, matches could potentially take place between Friday, January 5 and Monday, January 8.


The likes of Blackburn Rovers, Charlton Athletic and Wigan Athletic are among the teams hoping to book their place in the third round.

Article continues below

Interestingly, the third round could potentially feature three teams from level seven of the English football pyramid - or non-league football - with Isthmian League outfit Leatherhead, as well as Southern League duo Hereford and Slough Town in the second round.

Check out the full span of second round fixtures, including live TV broadcasts, below. You can also check out our full guide to this year's tournament here.

Date Match Time (GMT) TV?
Dec 1 AFC Fylde vs Wigan Athletic 19:45 BBC
Dec 2 Notts County vs Oxford City 12:30 BT
Dec 2 MK Dons vs Maidstone United 15:00 No
Dec 2 Port Vale vs Yeovil Town 15:00 No
Dec 2 Shrewsbury Town vs Morecambe 15:00 No
Dec 2 Stevenage vs Swindon Town 15:00 No
Dec 2 Bradford City vs Plymouth Argyle 15:00 No
Dec 2 Gillingham vs Carlisle United 15:00 No
Dec 2 Forest Green Rovers vs Exeter City 15:00 No
Dec 2 Fleetwood Town vs Hereford 15:00 No
Dec 3 Woking vs Peterborough United 14:00 No
Dec 3 Newport County vs Cambridge United 14:00 No
Dec 3 Wycombe Wanderers vs Leatherhead 14:00 No
Dec 3 Doncaster Rovers vs Scunthorpe United 14:00 No
Dec 3 AFC Wimbledon vs Charlton Athletic 14:00 No
Dec 3 Mansfield Town vs Guiseley 14:00 No
Dec 3 Gateshead vs Luton Town 14:00 No
Dec 3 Blackburn Rovers vs Crewe Alexandra 14:00 No
Dec 3 Coventry City vs Boreham Wood 14:00 No
Dec 4 Slough Town vs Rochdale 19:45 BT