News Live Scores

Tusker crash out of Caf Champions League

16:20 GMT+3 19/02/2017
Tusker players put God first before holding their training session ahead of Saturday friendly
A 2-1 loss to ASPL 2000 at New George V Stadium on Sunday saw Tusker bow out of Caf Champions League

Tusker FC suffered a 2-1 defeat against Mauritian Premier League side AS Port Louis 2000 in the 2017 Caf Champions League return leg match played on Sunday away.

They had registered a 1-1 draw at Kasarani Stadium last week and the 2-1 loss makes it an aggregate 2-3 defeat sailing the Islanders to the tourney’s first round stage.

Tusker started the match on a higher note dominating the first half of the game before allowing the hosts to command the second stanza.

Ulinzi Stars coach outlines how to prepare for Caf CC duty

Ugandan midfielder Hashim Sempala put the Brewers in the lead in the 21st minute with a super shot from outside 18-yard, a goal which served as a wakeup call for the hosts, whose defenders stood tall to protect their keeper from any dangers thereafter. 

On return from the tunnel, the George Nsimbe coached side continued from where they left launching a number of attacks with Allan Wanga and Noah Wafula being instrumental. In fact, the visitors were to add another goal in 55th minute but Wafula squandered an open chance by shooting wide off target.

Nsimbe was aware that the game was becoming tougher every minute and introduced Clifford Alwanga and Captain James Situma but nothing changed.

Football stand-off: FKF to ban KPL officials

In the 83rd minute, striker Ephrem Guikan managed to go past Tusker defender Collins Shivachi to put the ball in an empty net after David Okello moved out following a defensive mishap.

Six minutes later, he competed his brace with a header from a corner-kick to drive ASPL 2000 to the 2017 Caf champions League’s first round where Sudan Premier League giants Al Hilal await.

Tusker: David Okello (GK), Collins Shivachi, Vincent Omumbo, Martin Kizza, Lloyd Wahome, Hashim Sempala, Noah Wafula, Shafik Batambuze, Humphrey Mieno (C) , Anthony Ndolo , Allan Wanga.

Subs: Duncan Ochieng’ (GK), Victor Ndinya, Clifford Alwanga, James Situma, Brian Osumba, Sydney Ochieng’, Michael Khamati.