News Live Scores
Africa Women Cup of Nations

Marjolene Nekesa set to lead Kenya squad for Awcon tournament in Ghana

09:16 GMT+3 24/10/2018
Harambee-Starlets in CECAFA v Tanzania.j
The team is set to hit camp on Monday, October 29, 2018, and will play two friendly matches before jetting out to Ghana

Harambee Starlets coach David Ouma has named 32 players in the provisional squad for the upcoming Africa Women Cup of Nations set to be played between November 17, and December 1, 2018, in Ghana.

The squad is largely made up of players, who took part in the Awcon qualifiers against Uganda and Equatorial Guinea, as well as the 2018 Cecafa Women Championships in Rwanda.

Notable inclusions, however, include Mary Kinuthia, Christine Nafula, and Janet Bundi. The USA-based Marjolene Nekesa has also been called up.

Starlets have been pooled in a tough Group B alongside defending champions Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia. Kenya will open their campaign with a clash against Zambia on November 18, then face South Africa on November 21 before winding up their preliminary matches against Nigeria on November 24.

Kenya took part in the last edition held in Cameroon, where they, crashed out in preliminary stages. Nigeria, in particular, handed Kenya a 4-0 defeat, having lost the opener 3-1 to Ghana and another identical scoreline defeat by Mali.

Equatorial Guinea, who were champions in 2008 and 2012, will not play at this year's competition after being disqualified for fielding an ineligible player during their qualifying victory over Kenya.

The team is set to hit camp on Monday, October 29, 2018, and will play two friendly matches before jetting out to Ghana on November 14, 2018, in time for the tournament.

Full Squad; Goalkeepers: Pauline Atieno (Makolanders), Maureen Shimuli (Wadadia), Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Monica Karambu (Thika Queens) and Diana Tembesi (Wiyeta Girls).

Defenders: Lilian Adera (Vihiga Queens), Wendy Achieng (Spedag), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian), Phelistus Kadari (Vihiga Queens), Wincate Kaari (Thika Queens), Elizabeth Ambogo (Spedag), Maureen Khakasa (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Juliet Auma (Thika Queens) and Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens).

Midfielders: Jentrix Shikangwa (Wiyeta Girls), Mary Kinuthia (Gaspo Youth), Sheril Angachi (Gaspo Youth), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Corazone Aquino (Vihiga Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Youth), Martha Amunyolete (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Christine Nafula (Gaspo Youth), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens), Mercy Achieng (Thika Queens) and Cheris Avilia (Spedag).

Forwards: Neddy Atieno (Makolanders), Esse Akida (Ramat Hasharon), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Janet Bundi (Eldoret Falcons), Terry Engesha (Vihiga Queens), Phoebe Oketch (Vihiga Queens) and Marjolene Nekesa (USA).