News Live Scores
United States U20

Lindsey, McKenzie and Scott headline U.S. U-20 squad for World Cup qualifying

23:23 GMT+3 23/10/2018
Tab Ramos USA U20 05252017
Tab Ramos has unveiled the squad that will compete in the upcoming Concacaf Under-20 Championship

Sporting Kansas City’s Jaylin Lindsey, Philadelphia Union’s Mark McKenzie and FC Cologne goalkeeper Brady Scott headline the 20-player United States team chosen to play in the upcoming Concacaf Under-20 Championship.

Head coach Tab Ramos unveiled his roster on Tuesday for the qualifying tournament which takes place in Bradenton, Florida from November 1 to November 21. 

The U.S. Under-20s are the defending champions and will begin group stage play on Nov. 1st against Puerto Rico. The Americans then face the U.S. Virgin Islands on Nov. 3rd before facing Trinidad & Tobago on Nov. 5th and Suriname on Nov. 7th. 

“I’m looking forward to this U-20 World Cup Qualifying challenge,” said Ramos, who will be coaching in his fourth Concacaf U-20 tournament. “This new format provides opportunities to many nations and makes the qualifying process much more difficult. Although our preparation will be short, we will be ready to defend our first-ever Concacaf title”

Scheduling conflicts and club commitments forced Ramos to build his roster without several top players in the age group, such as Josh Sargent, Tim Weah, Chris Durkin, Jonathan Amon, Chris Richards, Sergino Dest and Sebastian Soto, while Tyler Adams has moved on to focusing on the USMNT after being one of the key players in the previous Under-20 cycle.

McKenzie was included in the squad even though he could wind up missing the start of the tournament if his Philadelphia Union make a deep playoff run.

Ramos will have the chance to make changes to his roster after the initial group stage, but is unlikely to use all six changes, with Amon and Soto among the players who could get a call during the tournament.

Here is the full 20-player U.S. Under-20 roster for the Concacaf qualifying tournament:

GOALKEEPERS: Brady Scott (FC Koln), CJ Dos Santos (S.L Benfica).

DEFENDERS: Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting KC), Chris Gloster (Hannover 96), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union), Matthew Real (Philadelphia Union), Manny Perez (N.C. State), Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), Sam Rogers (Seattle Sounders FC).

MIDFIELDERS: Brandon Servania (FC Dallas), Juan Pablo Torres (K.S.C. Lokeren), Alex Mendez (SC Frieburg), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas), Anthony Fontana (Philadelphia Union), Isaac Angking (New England Revolution).

FORWARDS: Justin Rennicks (Indiana Univ), Ulysses Llanez (Unattached), Griffin Dorsey (Indiana Univ), Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC), Frankie Amaya (UCLA).