News Live Scores
Malaysia Cup

Flashback: When Perak beat Terengganu in 1998

08:05 GMT+3 24/10/2018
Perak Malaysia Cup 1998
This weekend's Malaysia Cup final will be the third time that Perak and Terengganu have faced each other in the final, here's a recap of the first one

This final in 1998 was the first that was held in the newly-built Bukit Jalil National Stadium that only just hosted the 1998 Commonweath Games before that. Close to 90,000 spectators took their first sittings of the magnificent stadium holding one of the most important match of the Malaysian football calendar. 

Perak were the first to strike when V. Saravanan opened the scoring in the 58th minute but Rosli Derus equalised for Terengganu in the 83rd minute. With the score tied at 1-1, the match went into extra time and then penalty shoot-out.

Roslan Hamid, Khairul Anuar Baharom and Lim Seng Kong had all converted their spot kicks for Perak while Anuar Jusoh, Jean Nyima and Rosaidi Wahab score for Terengganu and the match was still tied at 3-3 after six kicks.

Chan Kok Heng put the next one past Zubir Ibrahim to give Perak the lead at 4-3 before Badrul Hisham Abdullah became the first player to miss. That left Janos Krecska with the chance to be a hero for Perak and he did not dissapoint as Perak emerged winners with a 5-3 result.

Perak: Zamri Mat Arif, Chan Kok Heng, Khairul Anuar Baharom, Janos Krecska, Roslan Hamid, Chan Wing Hoong, Lim Seng Kong, Gyorgy Takacs (P. Gunasekaran), Azrul Amri Borhan (Raja Azlan Shah), V. Saravanan, M. Nagaraja

Terengganu: Zubir Ibrahim, Azman Ismail, Anuar Jusoh, Rosdi Talib, Jean Nyima, Syamsol Saad (Zulharizan Awang), Mohd Noor Derus, Seidu Issifu, Badrul Hisham Abdullah, Wan Ahmad Ridzuan Hussin (Baharuddin Ali), Samuel Chebli


Follow Goal Malaysia on Instagram