Al Wahda win the Arabian Gulf Cup for the second time in three years

The Maroon defeated The Cheetahs with just 9 men after two second-half red cards

Al Wahda won the Arabian Gulf Cup for the second time in three years after defeating Al Wasl in the final of the 2017/18 edition at the Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium with a 2-1 score. Tareq Ahmed and Sebastian Tagliabue got the goals for them in the first half, before Al Wasl attempted a failed comeback in the second half.

In the 14th minute, Tareq Ahmed opened the scoring with a curled shot from the left flank to take advantage of the poor positioning in Al Wasl’s defence. Then, in the 30th minute, Tagliabue scored a header from distance to make it 2-0 for Al Wahda, who held onto the lead until half time.

Ronaldo Mendes brought the score back to 2-1 in the 60th minute with a goal for Al Wasl, and things were looking bright for The Cheetahs when Al Wahda received two red cards – Ahmed Rashid in the 67th minute and Mohamed Al Menhali in the 81st minute.

However, Al Wasl failed to come back and lost 2-1 to continue their trophy drought, meanwhile Al Wahda earned their first trophy of the season.

Next article:
Vidic hails Ronaldo as ultimate professional ahead of Old Trafford return
Next article:
Gattuso must re-invent himself to improve mediocre Milan
Next article:
Stage is set for Icardi to take another giant leap forward against Barcelona
Next article:
ISL 2018-19: No sweat Bengaluru, Pune City look utterly lost
Next article:
Icardi: Messi absence a big blow for Barca ahead of Champions League clash