USA U-17s call in PSG’s Weah, Atlanta’s Carleton

Gene Sweeney Jr.
The prospects make their return to the Nike tournament after taking part in the U.S.’s effort last year.

Paris Saint-Germain prospect Timothy Weah and Atlanta United’s Andrew Carleton have been called in by U.S. Under-17 coach John Hackworth as part of his squad for the Nike International Friendlies, taking place in Lakewood Ranch, Florida, U.S. Soccer announced Tuesday.

Arena searching for playmaker

Weah, son of former World Player of the Year George Weah, and Carleton, who became Atlanta’s first homegrown player signing this past summer, return to the tournament after participating last season.

Including Weah and Carleton, 12 of the players named to the squad took part in last year’s edition. The U.S. went 1-2-0, though it did manage a victory against the tournament’s runner-up, the Netherlands.

Most of the players are on youth teams in the U.S or MLS. Weah, Carlos dos Santos and Dest Sergino, who are part of the Benfica and Ajax youth setups, are the exceptions.

The U.S. kicks off Wednesday at 7 p.m. ET against Portugal. It faces Turkey on Friday at 7 p.m. ET and Brazil on Sunday at 5 p.m. ET.

Here is the U.S. roster in full:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica; Philadelphia), Justin Garces (Kendall SC; Miami)

Article continues below

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Asensio (Atlanta United; Roswell, Ga.), Sergino Dest (Ajax; Almere-stad, Netherlands), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), Carlos Ritaccio (BW Gotschee; Westbury, N.Y.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Isaac Angking (New England Revolution; Providence, R.I.), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Rayshaun McGann (Philadelphia Union; Royal Palm Beach, Fla.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.)

FORWARDS (5): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United; Powder Springs, Ga.), Bryan Reynolds Jr. (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.) Timothy Weah (Paris Saint-Germain; Rosedale, N.Y.)