News Live Scores
Africa Women Cup of Nations

Kenya starts residential training ahead of Awcon finals in Ghana

4:57 pm AEDT 29/10/18
Harambee Starlets U-20.
Harambee Starlets have been pooled in Group B of the 2018 Awcon competition to be staged in Ghana from November 17

Harambee Starlets will check into camp on Monday as they start preparations for the Awcon finals to be held in Ghana.

The Starlets are set to hold their first training session at the Utalii Grounds on Monday starting 3pm ahead of the continental showpiece, set to kick-off on November 17, 2018.

Two friendly matches, against Uganda and Ghana, have also been lined up ahead of the tourney, whose best three gain automatic qualification to the 2019 Fifa Women’s World Cup, set to be held in France.

Starlets have been pooled in a tough Group B alongside defending champions Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia. Kenya will open their campaign with a clash against Zambia on November 18, then face South Africa on November 21 before winding up their preliminary matches against Nigeria on November 24.

Kenya took part in the last edition held in Cameroon, where they, crashed out in preliminary stages. Nigeria, in particular, handed Kenya a 4-0 defeat, having lost the opener 3-1 to Ghana and another identical scoreline defeat by Mali.

Equatorial Guinea, who were champions in 2008 and 2012, will not play at this year's competition after being disqualified for fielding an ineligible player during their qualifying victory over Kenya.

Full Squad; Goalkeepers: Pauline Atieno (Makolanders), Maureen Shimuli (Wadadia), Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Monica Karambu (Thika Queens) and Diana Tembesi (Wiyeta Girls).

Defenders: Lilian Adera (Vihiga Queens), Wendy Achieng (Spedag), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian), Phelistus Kadari (Vihiga Queens), Wincate Kaari (Thika Queens), Elizabeth Ambogo (Spedag), Maureen Khakasa (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Juliet Auma (Thika Queens) and Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens).

Midfielders: Jentrix Shikangwa (Wiyeta Girls), Mary Kinuthia (Gaspo Youth), Sheril Angachi (Gaspo Youth), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Corazone Aquino (Vihiga Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Youth), Martha Amunyolete (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Christine Nafula (Gaspo Youth), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens), Mercy Achieng (Thika Queens) and Cheris Avilia (Spedag).

Forwards: Neddy Atieno (Makolanders), Esse Akida (Ramat Hasharon), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Janet Bundi (Eldoret Falcons), Terry Engesha (Vihiga Queens), Phoebe Oketch (Vihiga Queens) and Marjolene Nekesa (USA).