News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations Qualification

Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Willard Katsande back in Zimbabwe squad for Liberia match

1:56 am AEDT 30/10/18
Costa Nhamoinesu, Willard Katsande, Tendai Ndoro & Knowledge Musona of Zimbabwe
Victory away in Liberia would be enough to send Zimbabwe through to the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations finals

Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Willard Katsande is back in the Warriors squad after more than a year away from the national team.

Group G leaders Zimbabwe will travel to Liberia for the November 18 match where a win will see them book a place at the Africa Cup of Nations finals in 2019.

Katsande last featured for the Warriors at the 2017 Afcon tournament in Gabon where he was captain before announcing his retirement amid disciplinary issues with the Zimbabwe FA.

After announcing that he is ready to come out of retirement last year, Katsande continued to be ignored but he has finally been brought back into the team by coach Sunday Chidzambwa.

Also making a return is captain Knowledge Musona, who was suspended for the home tie against DR Congo earlier this month after being red-carded in the reverse fixture in Kinshasa.

Having accumulated two yellow cards, Wales-based defender Alec Mudimu is also back in the team after serving his suspension together with Musona.

Fit-again Le Havre striker Tino Kadewere, who missed the last three matches due to injury also makes a return.

Nottingham Forest defender Tendayi Darikwa will miss the Liberia trip after picking up a yellow card in back-to-back matches against DR Congo.

There is still no place for winger Kudakwashe Mahachi, who has been struggling for game time at Orlando Pirates.

Golden Arrows duo of midfielder Danny Phiri and defender Divine Lunga will miss the match through injuries.

Also missing is Nyasha Mushekwi and Costa Nhamoinesu, who both claim to be injured despite turning out for their respective clubs in China and Czech Republic respectively.

Zimbabwe squad:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City, South Africa), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs, South Africa), Simbarashe Chinani (Dynamos)

Defenders: Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids, Wales), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic, South Africa), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Kevin Moyo (FC Platinum), Byron Madzokere (Yadah Stars), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam, Tanzania), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu, South Africa), Talent Chwapihwa (Baroka, South Africa), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge, Belgium), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht, Belgium), Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum)

Strikers: Evans Rusike (SuperSport United, South Africa), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre, France), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits, South Africa)