News Live Scores

Ex-Kariobangi Sharks star Pascal Ogweno reveals why he signed for Gor Mahia

8:09 pm AEDT 27/11/18
Pascal Ogweno of Gor Mahia and Ambrose Rachier.
The former Sharks defender was among eight players unveiled by K'Ogalo as they prepare to defend title in the 2018/19 season

Pascal Ogweno has revealed the reason why he signed for Gor Mahia.

Ogweno, who joined K’Ogalo after his contract at Kariobangi Sharks expired, now says he joined the team to win trophies. “My dream was always to play in the Caf Champions League and also win trophies. Gor Mahia have established themselves as a big team in Kenya and East Africa.

“The team has ambitions to shine at the continental stage and so do I. They say if you don’t beat them, then you must join them. I want to help the team do even better this season."

Despite joining a team that has quality defenders in Charles Momanyi, Joash Onyango, Philemon Otieno and captain Harun Shakava, Ogweno is confident that he will earn playing time. “I joined the team knowing that they have good quality in the defence but that cannot stop me from fighting to start a match.”

On Monday, Gor Mahia unveiled new eight players during a ceremony held at a hotel in Nairobi. The eight are Erick Ombija a midfielder from Kenyatta University, young striker Erick Ogendo, who has been promoted from the youth team, after he played for Coast Stima in 2018.

Others include Ugandan pair of striker Erisa Ssekisambu and midfielder Shafik Batambuze, who joined the side from Vipers SC of Uganda and Singida United of Tanzania respectively.

Left-back Geoffrey Ochieng joined Gor Mahia from Western Stima while striker Nicholas Kipkirui was signed from Zoo FC. Kenneth Muguna rejoined the club from FK Tirana while Pascal Ogweno signed from Kariobangi Sharks.

Gor Mahia new signings are; Erick Castro Ombija (KU), Erick Ogendo (Gor Youth), Erisa Sekisambu (Vipers), Geoffrey Ochieng (Western Stima), Shafik Batambuze (Singida United), Kenneth Muguna (FK Tirana), Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo FC) and Pascal Ogweno (Kariobangi Sharks).