Dino Ndlovu returns as Stuart Baxter announces Bafana Bafana squad for Seychelles tie

Bafana Bafana, Dino Ndlovu
The Bafana Bafana mentor has confirmed his squad that will take on the islanders in back-to-back Afcon qualifiers

The latest Bafana Bafana squad to take on Seychelles in two 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers has been revealed at a press conference on Monday morning. 

With the likes of Keagan Dolly and Bongani Zungu among others nursing injuries, South Africa national team head coach Stuart Baxter was forced to make some changes to the side called up for the previous game against Libya.

Baxter also explained the absence of Mamelodi Sundowns star Themba Zwane and Bradley Grobler, who are only returning from injury and may not be 100% fit. 

Nonetheless, while Baxter has looked for consistency in his selection, Dino Ndlovu headlines the list of returnees to the Bafana fold. Ndlovu, who is based in China has been in formidable form this season and will be joined by Phakamani Mahlambi, French-based midfielder Lebogang Phiri and Cape Town City’s Thabo Nodada, who helped steer the Citizens to MTN8 success this past weekend, as only but some of the newer faces in the squad.

Meanwhile, Mahlambi recently signed for Sundowns from Egyptian giants Al Ahly and has already opened his account for Pitso Mosimane’s men. Baxter will hope that the 21-year-old’s addition will bolster his squad significantly.

Baxter’s squad are set to do battle against Seychelles in two highly important encounters set for October 13 (home leg) and 16 (away leg).

The home leg will be held at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg, and after Bafana played out to a goalless draw against Libya, victory will be imperative against the islanders who have been the group’s whipping boys.

Seychelles have conceded a total of eight goals in just two Group E Afcon qualifiers.  

Here’s a full list of players called up for the two games:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Ronwen Williams, Darren Keet

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Motjeka Madisha, Thapelo Morena, Siyanda Xulu, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkwanazi, S'Fiso Hlanti, Innocent Maela.

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena, Lebohang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Thabo Nodada, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Vincent Pule.

Forwards: Lebogang Phiri, Dino Ndlovu, Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Phakamani Mahlambi

Article continues below