A-League Team of the Season 2013-14: Champions Roar dominate the XI

Mike Mulvey's title-winners are the best represented side in our Team of the Season, with a supporting cast of the other outstanding performers

For our 2013-14 Team of the Season, we opted for the 4-3-3 formation that took Brisbane Roar to the Premier's Plate and Grand Final glory.

Four Roar players made the cut, with Ivan Franjic at right-back, Luke Brattan in holding midfield, Matt McKay ahead of him and Thomas Broich in his customary wide left playmaking role.

The Western Sydney Wanderers are unfortunate to have only one representative in centre-back Nikolai Topor-Stanley, perhaps a reflection of how evenly the talent is spread through Tony Popovic's hard-working side.

The same goes for the Central Coast Mariners, who did brilliantly to finish third despite losing the majority of their 2012-13 title-winning squad. In goalkeeper Liam Reddy, they found a worthy replacement for Mat Ryan and have a representative in our select XI.

Sydney FC meanwhile should perhaps consider themselves lucky to have a representative in the team in the form of Nikola Petkovic, with Alessandro Del Piero's likely berth taken up by Broich.

Melbourne Victory will miss Adama Traore next season after he opted not to sign a new contract. Their other representative in our Team of the Season, James Troisi, may not be around in 2014-15 either after his outstanding loan stay came to an end.

It's a similar story for Melbourne Heart, who only got to see Orlando Engelaar at his best for half the campaign at most, with the Dutchman no certainty to stick around.

Golden boot-winner Adam Taggart was the undisputed bright point in a frustrating, inconsistent campaign for the Newcastle Jets and sneaks into our team ahead of Besart Berisha.

Carlos Hernandez, Kenny Cunningham and Stein Huysegems all did well for Wellington Phoenix but the Kiwi side, like Perth Glory, are without a representative in the XI.

The real hard luck story is Adelaide United, who wowed us at times but couldn't get any of their stars into the Team of the Year. Stand-out performers Isaias Sanchez, Sergio Cirio, Fabio Ferreira and Marcelo Carrusca all saw their likely spots taken by marginally better performers.

Don't agree with our choices? Use Goal Pick Your Team to create your own A-League Team of the Season and share it with us on Twitter and Facebook.

Goal Australia has its own and  account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links