Nominees announced for Professional Footballers Australia awards

The list of nominees for the prestigious awards are in, with 20 male and female players in the running to be recognised for their achievements
The nominees for the 2011-12 Professional Footballers Australia awards have been announced, with 20 players shortlisted for three awards.

While the top honour - the Alex Tobin medal - will also be presented to a former or current player for achievement and service to the game, those in the running for the Football of the Year, the Harry Kewell medal for the best male player under 23 and the Women's Footballer of the Year have been revealed.

The winners will be announced in Brisbane on June 13 at the PFA awards, in conjunction with the Football Media Association.

"Anywhere in the world, the most coveted individual honour a player can receive is the one voted on by his or her peers," PFA president Simon Colosimo said.

"With more and more players having the opportunity to earn their living from football, the PFA Footballer of the Year awards are more competitive than ever."


Footballer of the year: Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar), Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), Alex Brosque (Shimizu S-Pulse), Adam Federici (Reading), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow), Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners).

Harry Kewell medal: Aziz Behich (Melbourne Heart), James Brown (Gold Coast United), Luke Devere (Gyeongnam), Mate Dugandzic (Melbourne Heart), Ryan McGowan (Hearts), Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar), Mat Ryan (Central Coast Mariners), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough).

Women's Footballer of the Year: Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC), Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar/Fortuna Hjorring), Sally Shipard (Canberra United/Bayer Leverkusen), Lydia Williams (Canberra United/Pitea IF Dam).

Goal Australia has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links