Cecafa Kagame Cup: Jacques Tuyisenge saves a lackluster Gor Mahia
Goal Kenya.
The goal from the penalty spot helped K’Ogalo settle for a 2-2 draw with Lydia Ludic in the Cecafa Kagame Cup on Tuesday

Jacques Tuyisenge saved Gor Mahia from what looked like an embarrassing defeat after he slotted home late in the dying minutes.

The little know Burundian club, was poised for what would have been a rare defeat against the Kenyan champions until a late blunder from a Ludic player, who handled inside the box with just a minute of the extra time to go.

Gor Mahia, who surrendered a two goal lead to settle for a 2-2 draw with Rayon Sports of Rwanda in the opener, found themselves chasing the game until the 94th minute.

Lydia Ludic tapped into the experience of former AFC Leopards striker Alexis Kitenge and Ugandan Dan Wagaluka to frustrate the Kenyan giants, who have only lost once; in all competitions, this season.

Kitenge, who was released by Ingwe in January after he failed to impress, gave Lydia the lead early in the first half after beating Gor Mahia defenders to slot past Shaban Odhoji.

Kitenge capitalized on a blind pass from Godfrey Walusimbi, whose back pass landed right on the legs of the Burundian striker, and he did not disappoint with his final touch.

Philemon Otieno levelled for Gor Mahia after he fired past three defenders to bring the Kenyan champions back to the game. Otieno was fed by Ephraim Guikan, who picked a loose ball inside the box before laying it to an on charging Otieno right inside Lydia’ box.

But Gor Mahia’s lead was cut short by Wagaluka mid second half. Fatigue was eminently visible on Gor Mahia players, who played their fourth match in under a week, but persistency from Dylan Kerr charges yielded dividends when a Ludic player handled the ball inside his box.

Article continues below

Tuyisenge sent the goalkeeper the wrong way to salvage a point for the Kenyan champions and bring them back to the tournament.

Gor Mahia XI: Shaban Odhoji, Innocent Wafula, Godfrey Walusimbi, Haron Shakava, Joash Onyango, Philemon Otieno, Francis Kahata, Humphrey Mieno, George Odhiambo, Ephrem Guikan and Jacques Tuyisenge.


Comments ()