News Live Scores
Liverpool

When does the 2019 Ballon d'Or ceremony take place?

13:30 GMT+4 02/12/2019
Hegerberg Modric Mbappe Ballon d'Or
Virgil van Dijk and Lionel Messi are among the favourites to succeed Luka Modric as the game's outstanding individual figure

Luka Modric made history when he was awarded the Ballon d'Or in 2018, ending the dominance of perennial favourites Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

That trend could continue in 2019, too, with Virgil van Dijk emerging as a strong contender for the prize following his impressive Champions League-winning year with Liverpool.

So will the Messi-Ronaldo duality be broken once again?  Goal has all the details about when the Ballon d'Or will be awarded in 2019.

When does the 2019 Ballon d’Or ceremony take place?

The 2019 Ballon d'Or ceremony will take place on Monday December 2.

The schedule for the 2019 ceremony is as follows: 

  • Ranking reveal - 4:30pm GMT (11:30am ET)
  • Red carpet - 6:30pm GMT (1:30pm ET)
  • Ceremony starts - 7:30pm GMT (2:30pm ET)

It will be the 64th in the history of the prestigious award, which was first given to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1956. 

Who will present the 2019 Ballon d'Or ceremony?

Sandy Heribert and Didier Drogba are set to host this year's edition of the ceremony.

The prize has historically been organised by France Football magazine, with the initial 30-man shortlist revealed on October 21.

Who will win Ballon d'Or 2019?

Messi moved ahead of Van Dijk as outright favourite for the award on the day before the ceremony, with Ronaldo considered the next favourite.

Seven Liverpool players – Van Dijk, Mohamed Salah, Roberto Firmino, Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Sadio Mane and Georginio Wijnaldum – were nominated for this year's award.

Ballon d'Or 2019: Messi, Ronaldo & Van Dijk head up list of 30 nominees

Where will the 2019 Ballon d'Or be held?

Paris' Theatre du Chatelet will be the venue for the 2019 Ballon d'Or ceremony. The Grand Palais played host to the awards in 2018.

This year, a new trophy - the Yachine Trophy - will be awarded to the best goalkeeper of the year.

In 2018, the organisers moved to incorporate the first Ballon d’Or Feminin for the best female player in the game, and the Kopa Trophy, which is awarded to the best male under-21 footballer. These awards were won by Ada Hegerberg and Kylian Mbappe.