News Live Scores

Lagos to host Nigeria National League Super Four tournament

20:56 GMT+4 03/01/2018
MFM vs Nasarawa United
The league body has revealed that the four-team tournament will commence this weekend at the Agege Stadium in Lagos

Nigeria National League Super Four 2017 tournament will be held to decide the overall champions of 2016/2017 season from January 9-12 in Lagos.

Heartland, Kwara United, Go-Round and Yobe Desert Stars will participate in the competition having emerged from the Southern and Northern Conferences last season.

In a statement, the NNL Chief Operating Officer, Lawrence Katken announced that the three-day event will be played at the Agege Stadium, while its Annual General Assembly and new 20172018 season draws will hold in Lagos.

The league scribe appreciated the support of its sponsors, the Lagos state government plus the state FA, while assuring all of a hitch-free event.

"The end of season Super Four (4) tournament to determine the overall champions for the season in the Nigeria National League will hold in Lagos,'' said Katken.

"The three-day tournament will kick off Sunday January 7 and end on Tuesday January 9, 2018 at the Agege Stadium in Lagos.

"Heartland, Kwara United emerged winners of both the Southern and Northern Conferences in the regular season, while Go-Round FC and Yobe Desert Stars  were runners up.

"The four teams who by their efforts qualified for the Super four, will light up the Soccer Temple in the wake of the new year," he continued.

"Apart from the stiff competition expected, the Super four will provide veritable platform to honour and reward deserving individuals and administrators, who distinguished themselves in the 2016/2017 NNL season.

"In the meantime, the Annual General Assembly (AGA) a precursor for the new season will also hold in Lagos. During the AGA, the draw for the new season's fixture amongst others top the agenda for the AGA," he concluded.