News Live Scores

Juric dropped as Arnold reveals Socceroos squad

04:10 GMT+4 20/12/2018
A few bold changes from Graham Arnold

Graham Arnold has unveiled his 23-man Socceroos squad for the Asian Cup with the omission of Tomi Juric and inclusion of Aaron Mooy the biggest surprises.

Juric was a regular starter under Ange Postecoglou but injury and a lack of goals has seen him miss the cut with Arnold preferring Jamie Maclaren as his go to striker.

Despite an injury Huddersfield claim will keep him sidelined throughout January, Mooy has been named in the squad with Football Federation Australia set to provide their own injury assessment on December 24.

The Socceroos will then have until six hours prior to their first game at Asian Cup, which will be against Jordan on January 6, to name a replacement for Mooy should he not be deemed fit enough. 

Perth Glory attacker Chris Ikonomidis has been rewarded for his bright start to the season and been named in the squad alongside A-League right-backs Josh Risdon and Rhyan Grant.

Elsewhere, Martin Boyle and Awer Mabil have retained their spots with Robbie Kruse also included despite a minor injury which has kept sidelined for the past month

With an average squad age of 26, Arnold praised the balance he's been able to strike for the tournament. 

"Our squad for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup in the UAE blends youth with experience," Arnold said.

"Individually and collectively the players are determined to excel at the tournament and following the three positive camps that we have had since September I know that Australia will enter the Asian Cup with the best camaraderie in the competition.  

“In the short amount of time I have had in charge I feel that we have come a long way, and we will travel to the UAE expecting to win every match and ultimately lift the trophy in early February in Abu Dhabi.

"We will play energetic, high-intensity football in the UAE, and the rapid attackers we have selected including Chris, Mathew [Leckie], Robbie, Awer, Martin, Andrew [Nabbout], and Jamie will enable us to implement our style."

The Socceroos have been drawn in Group B for the Asian Cup alongside Jordan, Palestine and Syria with their first game to be played against Jordan on January 6.

Socceroos Asian Cup squad: Mustafa AMINI, Aziz BEHICH, Martin BOYLE , Milos DEGENEK, Alex GERSBACH, Rhyan GRANT, Chris IKONOMIDIS, Jackson IRVINE, Matthew JURMAN, Robbie KRUSE, Mitchell LANGERAK, Mathew LECKIE, Massimo LUONGO, Awer MABIL, Jamie MACLAREN, Mark MILLIGAN, Aaron MOOY, Andrew NABBOUT, Josh RISDON, Tom ROGIC, Mathew RYAN, Trent SAINSBURY, Daniel VUKOVIC