News Live Scores
U17 World Cup

Ghana confirm final squad for Under-17 World Cup

12:56 GMT+4 21/09/2017
Samuel Kwasi Fabin coach of Ghana U17
Coach Paa Kwesi Fabin has announced his final selection for the global youth fiesta

Ghana have finalised their team for the 2017 Fifa Under-17 World Cup to be held in India next month.

Having travelled to the United Arab Emirates for preparations with 25 players, coach Samuel Paa Kwasi Fabin has whittled down his team to 21, as required by rules of the U-17 World Cup.

Accra Young Wise's Isaac Antah, who was part of the team at the African championship in May, is among the unlucky four, so are Rudolf Blagogee, Evans Sarfo and Emmanuel Antwi.

Captain Eric Ayiah, who netted four times as Ghana finished second at the Afcon, headlines the 21-man roster.

Absent from the African championship, Manchester City-linked Mohammed Aminu made the cut this time around.

In all, Fabin has strengthened his team with six new players following the Afcon.

Currently camping in Dubai, the Black Starlets succumbed 2-1 to Mali in a pre-tournament fixture on Wednesday.

The two-time world champions return to action on Sunday in another friendly match, this time against the United Arab Emirates.

At India 2017, which runs between October 6 and 28, Ghana have been pitted against the hosts, Concacaf runners-up the USA and Colombia, who came fourth at the South American championship.

The Black Starlets are set to make a return to the global showpiece for the first time since finishing fourth at Korea 2007.


Goalkeepers: Ibrahim Danlad (Kotoko), Michael Acquaye (Wafa), Kwame Aziz (Mandela Soccer Academy)

Defenders: Najeeb Yakubu (New Town Youth), Gideon Mensah (Right to Dream), Bismark Terry Owusu (Mandela Soccer Academy), Edmund Arko-Mensah (Wa All Stars), Abdul Razak Yusif (Koforidua Youth), Gideon Acquah (Bofoakwa Tano), Rashid Alhassan (Aduana Stars), John Otu (Dreams FC)

Midfielders: Isaac Gyamfi (New Life FC), Gabriel Leveh (Tema Youth), Ibrahim Sulley (New Life FC), Mohammed Kudus (Right to Dream), Emmanuel Toku (Cheetah FC), Mohammed Iddriss (Cheetah FC)

Strikers: Eric Ayiah (Charity Stars), Richard Danso (Wafa), Mohammed Aminu (Wafa), Ibrahim Sadiq (Right To Dream)