FKF-KPL agree on 18-team league

Goal Kenya.
Kenyan Premier League will have 18 teams in 2017 if Muhoroni Youth, Thika United and Sofapaka are reinstated

Football Kenya Federation and Kenyan Premier League have agreed on an 18-team top flight league as from 2017 season.

The Joint Executive Committee comprising of three representatives from both bodies finally agreed in a meeting held on Thursday to end the long term tussle which has been the talk of the day in the recent past.

Gor Mahia to officially unveil new signings

After failing to agree in a number of meetings, KPL finally revealed the amount they get from sponsors and FKF also agreed to financially cover up for the two additional clubs in amounts reported to be Sh36 million.

It then means that four teams including Nzoia Sugar, Kariobangi Sharks, Zoo Kericho and Nakumatt will be promoted from the National Super League to the country’s top tier.

However, the federation has insisted that only 15 teams have been cleared for the league, explaining how the figure 18 will be reached if Muhoroni Youth, Sofapaka and Thika United fail in their appeals to be reinstated.

AFC Leopards confirm ten new signings

“Muhoroni Youth, Thika United and Sofapaka appealed against the decision to drop them and the hearing is set for next week. If they win, they will be reinstated but if they fail, the league will have 15 teams for now.

Article continues below

“Then this is how we will finally attain the 18-team mark; we relegate two from KPL by the end of the season and promote three from NSL. The process repeats in 2018 and 2019 to have 18 teams in 2020,” head of communication Barry Otieno told Goal

AFC Leopards out to do things differently

The representatives were, FKF President Nick Mwendwa, Vice-president Doris Petra and Nairobi NEC member Chris Amimo for FKF against Tusker Chairman James Musyoki, Gor Mahia Chairman Ambrose Rachier and Mathare United Chairman Bob Munro for KPL.