News Live Scores
World Cup

FIFA World Cup trophy to tour South Africa

14:04 GMT+4 22/02/2018
World Cup trophy
The Jules Rimet trophy is heading to SA in March to relive the 2010 World Cup fever

Having successfully hosted the 2010 FIFA World Cup, South Africans will be granted an opportunity to relive the World Cup memories.

FIFA and sponsors Coca Cola, will bring the coveted trophy to the country as part of the Coca-Cola’s World Cup Trophy Tour.

The Jules Rimet trophy will grace the South African shores in March and will allow the football fanatics in the country to pose with the most sought-after prize.

A word from the sponsors, Coca Cola is that the trophy will tour South Africa between the first and third of March, visiting Johannesburg and Cape Town.

It has been announced that former South African men’s senior team skipper, Lucas Radebe will welcome representatives for the occasion.

The Bafana Bafana legend is the tour ambassador and will ensure the FIFA delegate as well as Coca-Cola along representatives feel at home.

Furthermore, one of the country’s award-winning music artist, Cassper Nyovest, will entertain the crowds as one of the high profile international artists featured on the Coca-Cola anthem for this year’s event.

The global tournament is set to be staged in Russia in June this year and the tour is aimed at keeping the interest alive as the countdown is already underway.

Current world champions, Germany who lifted the trophy in Brazil four years ago, will hope to dazzle the world in Russia and defend their crown.

As part of the tour building up to the highly anticipated tournament, Uganda will have an opportunity to see the trophy as it will be on display for two days at Lugogo Stadium on March 05.

Between 7th and 10th of March, Nigeria will also have an opportunity to host the trophy in Abuja and Lagos, then Senegal on March 11 and Cote D’Ivoire two days later.

To wrap up the tour will be the Egyptians on March 15 before it departs from the continent as the Africans will pin their hopes on Senegal, Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco and Nigeria in Russia 2018.