FEATURE: Orlando Pirates' record in Telkom Knockout Cup finals

Goal looks at Bucs' record in TKO finals as they prepare to go head-to-head with Bakgaga this weekend

Since Telkom took over as the main sponsors of the country’s League Cup in 2006, there has been several holders of the coveted crown.

Not only has the Cup been dominated by South African football’s giants, but time and time again, there has been a notable Cinderella effort.

Bloemfontein Celtic, Platinum Stars, Ajax Cape Town and Cape Town City are some of the tournament’s less fancied sides who have gone on to achieve greatness.   

This year once again another side (Baroka) has the opportunity to get their hands on the trophy for the very first time.


However, Orlando Pirates stand in Baroka’s way and considering their track record, it will take a brave person to bet against Pirates winning the crown for only their second time. The 2018 TKO final will be Bakgaga’s very first while Pirates have been here before, albeit four times with Telkom as the main sponsors.

Pirates though have won just one final, losing three to the likes of the Urban Warriors, Platinum Stars and a defeat which will long live in the Ghost’s memory, against arch-rivals Kaizer Chiefs.

Nonetheless, Goal looks at Pirates' record in the Telkom Knockout finals over the years.

Ajax Cape Town heartbreak  

Oupa Manyisa of Orlando Pirates

This was the Buccaneers’ first opportunity at silverware in the competition after Telkom took over, but it was a performance to forget.

Mabhuti Khenyeza was the hero of the 2008 edition as he shocked them in Durban by netting two early goals.

Pirates were unable to fight back and could only manage a consolation goal, courtesy of Siphelele Mthembu. 

Amakhosi delight in Derby win  

 Siphiwe Tshabalala of Kaizer Chiefs

All roads led to FNB Stadium as the eyes of the nation fell on the Soweto Derby.

After losing out in the final two years prior, Pirates were hoping that the 2010 edition would be more positive.

But after looking unstoppable, the Buccaneers' road to glory was halted as Chiefs demolished their rivals.

A brace by Sthembiso Ngcobo and a late strike by Siphiwe Tshabalala ensured that Pirates would miss out on the crown.

First TKO trophy in the bag

Orlando Pirates winners of TKO 2011While memories of the defeat against Kaizer Chiefs were firmly in the minds of the players, redemption would be just around the corner.

In a show of dominance, Pirates reached the final for the second time in the space of two years, and this time, they made sure that they walked away with the top prize.

In front of an excited Moses Mabhida crowd, Thulasizwe Mbuyane netted before Sifiso Myeni drew his side level.

But with Wits hoping to shock Pirates, in the space of just over 10 minutes, Bucs turned their the tables, netting twice through Isaac Chansa and Daine Klate as Pirates went on to claim their very first TKO title.

Dikwena shock the Sea Robbers

Platinum Stars Telkom Knockout champs 2013

Article continues below

Pirates had another chance at the proverbial cherry in 2013 as they came up against the now defunct Platinum Stars.

Ahead of kick-off, many had put down the Soweto giants as strong favourites, but prestige and history meant little in this final.

Lucky Lekgwathi opened the scoring after 30 minutes, but a heroic late brace by Mogakolodi Ngele ended Pirates’ dreams as Dikwena stunned Pirates in Mbombela.