Erasmus and Mokotjo back in Bafana Bafana squad for Angola and Guinea-Bissau matches

Da Gama was tasked with naming the squad following the South African Football Association's delay in appointing Shakes Mashaba's successor

Bafana Bafana assistant coach Owen Da Gama has announced a squad of 25 players to face Guinea-Bissau and Angola in back-to-back international friendly matches on March 25 and March 28 respectively. 

The match against Guinea-Bissau will be played at the Moses Mabhida Stadium, while the country's FA is still finalising the venue for the Angola match. 

The selected players will assemble on Sunday, March 19 before traveling to Durban the following day to prepare for Guinea-Bissau. 

According to team manager Barney Kujane, Bafana will play two warm-up matches against Golden Arrows and Thanda Royal Zulu on March 22. 

Da Gama confirmed that he will be in charge for the two friendlies irrespective of whether a new coach is appointed.  

Bafana squad in full: 


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits) and Shu-Aib Walters (Cape Town City)


Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Eric Mathoho, Lorenzo Gordinho (all Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town), Diamond Thopola (Chippa United), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits) and Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns


Article continues below

Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Themba Zwane (all Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabo Mnyamane (SuperSport United), Andile Jali (KV Oostende), Kamohelo Mokotjo (FC Twente), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier) and Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam)


Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits), Kermit Erasmus (Lens), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City), Luther Singh (SC Braga), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Lars Veldwijk (KV Kortrjik)