News Live Scores

Gor Mahia v Leopards Match Report, 25/08/2018

2 - 0
Moi International Sports Centre
Gor Mahia 2-0 AFC Leopards: K'Ogalo win derby to clinch 17th Kenyan league title
19:22 GMT+4 25/08/2018
Gor Mahia v AFC Leopards.
K’Ogalo can now turn their attention to the Caf Confederation Cup where they have a huge match coming up against USM Alger

Gor Mahia have successfully defended their Kenyan Premier League crown after downing AFC Leopards 2-0 on Saturday.

A perfect finish by Boniface Omondi and a well-placed strike from Bernard Ondiek, albeit controversially, was all K’Ogalo needed to bag their 17th title.

The hosts came into the match knowing all they needed was a point to secure the title; in the third minute, Boniface Omondi was cleverly played in by Lawrence Juma, went past two defenders but his final pass to Samuel Onyango was a bit long, giving Ezekiel Owade all the time to save it.

A perfect chance for the Green Army came in 15th minute when they were awarded a free-kick about 25 yards. It was converted by former AFC Leopards’ man and Bernard Ondiek managed to head it on target, but the custodian ensured it did not hit the back of the net.

The defending champions took their lead in the 30th minute. Ingwe lost the ball in the midfield, it was played to the dangerous Omondi, who cut in, unleashed an unstoppable shot past Owade.

With thirty minutes on the clock, Samuel Onyango's foul caught Baker Lukooya, however the referee saw nothing wrong with the challenge giving Karim Nizigiyimana a chance to cross the ball to lively the Omondi, who fed Bernard Ondiek, and the latter doubled the advantage.

AFC Leopards had a good chance to halve the score line after Charles Momanyi handled the ball inside the eighteen yard box. However, Whyvonne Isuza, who was making a return after missing two last matches, missed from the spot.

Gor Mahia XI: 1. Fredrick Odhiambo, 3. Karim Nzigiyimana, 21. Wesley Onguso, 27. Charles Momanyi, 15. Joachim Oluoch, 10. Cercidy Okeyo, 7. Innocent Wafula, 17. Benard Ondiek, 6. Samuel Onyango, 11. Boniface Omondi, 24. Lawrence Juma.

Sub: 29. Boniface Oluoch, 28. Raphael Asudi, 4. Wellington Ochieng, 33. Stephen Okiro, 14. Kevin Omondi, 23. Francis Mustafa, 32. Eliud Lokuwam.

AFC Leopards XI: Ezekiel Owade (GK), Yusuf Mainge, Mike Kibwage, Duncan Otieno (C), Isaac Oduro, Brian Marita, Said Tsuma, Ezekiel Seda, Whyvonne Isuza, Baker Lukooya and Alex Orotomal.

Subs: Jairus Adira (GK), Christopher Oruchum, Aziz Okaka, Victor Majid, Vincent Oburu, Victor Omondi and Eugene Mukangula.