News Matches
AFF Championship

Thailand AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 squad: Who's in and who's out?

07:00 GMT+4 20/12/2022
Thailand's 2022 AFF Championship squad
Who has Thailand manager Alexandre Polking picked for the 2022 AFF Championship?

Six-time AFF Championship winners Thailand will kick off this year's tournament against Brunei on December 20.

The War Elephants won the tournament for the first time in 1995-96 and then tasted glory on five other occasions in 1999-2000, 2001-02, 2013-14, 2015-16 and 2020-21.

As Thailand gear up for the tournament as firm favourites, here's a look at the squad selected by coach Mano Polking!

  • Kampol Pathomakkakul in action


    All of Thailand's goalkeepers are relative newcomers to the team.

    Kampon Pathomakkakul made his debut for his country in March 2022, whereas Kittipong Phuthawchueak earned his first cap in May 2022.

    Saranon Anuin, meanwhile, will be hoping to make his national team debut at this tournament.

    Kampon PathomakkakulRatchaburi FC
    Kittipong PhuthawchueakBG Pathum United
    Saranon AnuinChiangrai United
  • Theerathon Bunmathan - Thailand


    The most experienced defender in the Thailand squad is left-back Theerathon Bunmathan, with over 70 international appearances to his name.

    Pansa Hemvibook will slot in as one of their centre backs alongside Kritsada Kaman, while Chalermsak Aukkee is also a viable option in that position.

    Other defensive options for Thailand include Chatmongkol Rueangthanarot, Sasalak Haiprakhon and Suphanan Bureerat.

    Theerathon BunmathanBuriram United
    Sasalak HaiprakhonBuriram United
    Pansa HemviboonBuriram United
    Kritsada KamanChonburi FC
    Chatmongkol RueangthanarotChonburi FC
    Jakkapan PornsaiAyutthaya United
    Suphanan BureeratPort
    Chalermsak AukkeePolice Tero FC
  • Ekanit Panya Malaysia Thailand World Cup 2022 Qualifier


    Thailand's midfield for the AFF Championship consists of a blend of young and experienced players, although they will have to make do without superstar Chanathip Songkrasin.

    Ekanit Panya has long been regarded as one of the rising stars of Thai football and this could be the tournament where he enjoys his breakthrough once and for all.

    Bordin Phala, meanwhile, also represents an exciting option down the wings.

    Ekanit PanyaMuangthong United
    Jaroensak WonggornMuangthong United
    Channarong PromsrikaewChonburi FC
    Sumanya PurisayChonburi FC
    Bordin PhalaPort FC
    Peeradol ChamratsameeBuriram United
    Weerathep PomphanMuangthong United
    Sanrawat DechmitrBangkok United
    Sarach YooyenPathum United
  • Teerasil Dangda Thailand


    Three out-and-out strikers have been selected for the AFF Championship.

    There's 34-year-old veteran Teerasil Dangda, who has scored over 50 international goals and has representsed his country at senior level well over 100 times.

    Fellow experienced campaigner Adisak Kraisorn offers another option in attack, while Poramet Arjvirai could be an alternative from the bench.

    Teerasil DangdaPathum United
    Adisak KraisornMuangthong United
    Poramet ArjviraiMuangthong United
  • Teerasil Dangda- Thailand


    The absence of Kawin Thamsatchanan and Siwarak Tedsungnoen means Pathomakkakul could get the nod as Thailand's No.1

    Then in defence, Haiprakhon might be moved from his favourite left wing to the right to facilitate Theerathon playing in his best role, with Hemviboon and Kaman partnering each other in the middle.

    Yooyen and Dechmitr are likely to sit the base of the reigning champions' midfield, with Panya, Purisai and Phala offering creativity and pace higher up the pitch.

    That leaves veteran striker Dangda as his side's preferred option up top to complete the XI.

    Thailand XI (4-2-3-1): Pathomakkakul; Haiprakhon, Hemviboon, Kaman, Theerathon; Yooyen, Dechmitr; Panya, Purisay, Phala; Dangda

  • Chanathip Songkrasin - Thailand


    As with every major tournament, there are always high-profile names who miss out for whatever reason and the AFF Championship is no exception.

    ASEAN superstar Chanathip Songkrasin will not be there and the same goes for up and coming stars such as Suphanat Muenta, Supachok Sarachat, Thitiphan Puangchan and Supachai Chaided.

    Chanathip SongkrasinKawasaki Frontale
    Supachok SarachatHokkaido Consadole Sapporo
    Suphanat MueantaBuriram United
    Kawin ThamsatchananMuangthong United
    Thanawat SuengchitthawonLeicester City
    Supachai ChaidedBuriram United
    Thitiphan PuangchanBangkok United