News Live Scores
Features & Opinions

Ranking top PSL clubs of the decade: Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates make the cut

01:54 GMT+4 29/12/2019
Happy Jele, Orlando Pirates & Thapelo Morena, Sundowns, April 2019
Who have been South Africa's most impressive clubs over the last ten years?

  • Mamelodi Sundowns team, Club World Cup

    Mamelodi Sundowns

    Masandawana have dominated South African football in the last decade, winning four PSL titles, the Telkom Knockout Cup and the Nedbank Cup.

    The Tshwane giants also became the second South African club to win the Caf Champions League and Caf Super Cup after Orlando Pirates, and they've become genuine African heavyweights under Pitso Mosimane.
  • SuperSport United, April 2016

    SuperSport United

    Matsatsantsa clinched the PSL title in 2010, as reigning champions, and have continued to build on that triumph.  

    Since then, the Tshwane giants have established themselves as the cup kings of South African football, having won the Telkom Knockout Cup, Nedbank Cup (three times) and MTN8 (twice).
  • Orlando Pirates team

    Orlando Pirates

    Bucs enjoyed some success just after the 2010 Fifa World Cup as they became the first PSL club to win the double treble (two PSL titles, two MTN8 trophies, the Nedbank Cup & the Telkom Knockout Cup)

    Furthermore, the Soweto giants won the Nedbank Cup for the eighth time in 2014, although it remains their last major trophy, even though Milutin Sredojevic threatened to take them back to the pinnacle of the domestic game.

  • Kaizer Chiefs Team

    Kaizer Chiefs

    Amakhosi ended their arch-rivals', Pirates', dominance in the PSL by winning the league title in 2013, before repeating the feat two years later.

    The Glamour Boys also added the Nedbank Cup and MTN8 to their trophy case in 2013 and 2014 respectively, and end the decade at the top of the table.

  • Bidvest Wits, October 2016

    Bidvest Wits

    The Clever Boys clinched their first league title in their 96-year history at the end of the 2016/17 campaign, having also won the Nedbank Cup in 2010.

    The Johannesburg side then clinched the 2016 MTN8 and 2017 Telkom Knockout Cup as they established themselves as one of the top teams in the country.

    What else could the Students achieve over the coming 10 years?