Which are the five highest scoring FIFA World Cup finals?

France 2018 World Cup finalGetty Images

The FIFA World Cup finals have produced some memorable clashes over the years. In the 21 editions that have taken place so far, 13 nations have made it to the final out of which eight teams have won the tournament.

Brazil might be the most successful team in the history of the tournament by winning it a record five times but Germany have reached the most number of finals in history.

While Brazil have reached the final on seven occasions and won it five times, Germany have reached eight World Cup finals, winning it on four occasions.

The highest-scoring World Cup final till date was played between Brazil and Sweden in 1958 in Stockholm which produced seven goals. The Selecao won the title for the first time in their history by beating the hosts 5-2.

There have been four World Cup finals which produced six goals and all the matches had the same scoreline, 4-2 in favour of the victorious side.

The 2018 World Cup final too witnessed six goals being scored with France beating Croatia 4-2 to bag their second World Cup title in Russia.

Which are the five highest-scoring FIFA World Cup finals in history?

  • Brazil 1958 World Cup

    Brazil 5-2 Sweden

    Edition: 1958

    Vava (2), Pele (2), Mario Zagallo (Brazil)
    Nils Erik Liedholm, Tore Simonsson (Sweden).

    Venue: Råsunda Stadium, Sweden

    Brazil won their first-ever World Cup title in Stockholm, Sweden on June 29, 1958, beating the hosts 5-2 in the final. A unique record was set in this match. Pele, who scored a brace, was the youngest goalscorer in the history of World Cup finals (17 years and 249 days) and Sweden's Nils Liedholm is the oldest ever goalscorer in the World Cup finals (35 years and 263 days).

  • Uruguay 1930 World Cup winnersGetty Images

    Uruguay 4-2 Argentina

    Edition: 1930


    Pablo Dorado, Jose Cea, Victoriano Iriarte, Hector Castro (Uruguay)
    Carlos Peucelle, Guillermo Stábile (Argentna)

    Venue: Estadio Centenario, Uruguay

    Uruguay won the first-ever World Cup at their home beating Argentina 4-2. The then Uruguay manager Alberto Suppici, who was 31 years old at that time, is the youngest ever manager to win the World Cup trophy.

  • Italy 1938 World CupGetty Images

    Italy 4-2 Hungary

    Edition: 1938

    Luigi Colaussi (2), Silvio Piola (2) (Italy)
    Pal Titkos, György Sárosi (Hungary)

    Venue: Stade Olympique de Colombes, France

    Italy became the first team to defend their World Cup title in 1938 when they beat Hungary 4-2 in Paris. Brazil are the only other team to have won back-to-back World Cups titles in 1958 and 1962.

  • England 1966 World CupGetty Images

    England 4-2 West Germany

    Edition: 1966

    Geoff Hurst (3), Martin Peters (England)
    Helmut Haller, Wolfgang Weber (West Germany).

    Venue: Wembley Stadium, England

    England won their first and only World Cup title in 1966 beating West Germany in the final. The eventful final witnessed Geoff Hurst's 'Phantom Goal' which helped England lift the trophy. After the normal time ended 2-2, Hurst’s shot in extra-time during the World Cup final, struck the crossbar and bounced behind West Germany goalkeeper Hans Tilkowski. England’s Roger Hunt was in no doubt it had crossed the line, running away in celebration instead of following up to knock it in before it was cleared. The centre-forward and the linesman were the only ones convinced the whole ball had gone behind the line, though, as the Germans protested. The referee took his time but later allowed the goal.

  • France, 2018 World Cup finalGetty Images

    France 4-2 Croatia

    Edition: 2018

    Mario Mandzukic (OG), Kylian Mbappe, Antoine Griezmann, Paul Pogba (France)
    Ivan Perisic, Mario Mandzukic (Croatia).

    Venue: Luzhniki Stadium, Russia

    France won their second World Cup title in 2018 beating Croatia 4-2 in the final in Moscow. With the win, Les Bleus boss Didier Deschamps became only the third footballer after Mario Zagallo and Franz Beckenbauer to win the World Cup as a player and a coach.