Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,

Founded: 1881

Address: St. James Park, Strawberry Pl, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4ST England

Phone: 0191.20.18.400

Fax: 0191.20.18.600

Email: custserv@nufc.co.uk

Official URL: http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk

Chairman: Mike Ashley

Club Director: Derek Llambias

Stadium: St. James' Park

Club History
The ultimate sleeping giant, Newcastle United and their devoted followers - the Toon Army - have hungered in vain for football silverware since 1969 when they won the old European Fairs Cup. The Magpies' last major domestic honour was back in 1955, and the wait looks set to continue. The one-club city of Newcastle-upon-Tyne is dominated by the impressive, cathedral-like steel-and-glass edifice of St James' Park, and the Toon and its Northumberland hinterland in England's North-East would be galvanised by footballing success. The FA Cup winning captain from the 1950s, Joe Harvey, led Newcastle to that Fairs Cup success; but since he retired in 1975 a succession of managers have tried but failed to bring success to the Geordies. Gordon Lee, Richard Dinnis, Bill McGarry, Arthur Cox, Jack Charlton, Willie McFaul, Jim Smith and Ossie Ardiles had been tried before, in 1992, ex-playing idol Kevin Keegan was persuaded to manage the club. They were in danger of relegation to the old Third Division at the time, but under Keegan's charismatic reign they stormed to promotion to the new Premier League and then, with a much-admired attacking side, set about challenging Manchester United for domestic dominance. But they fell short in 1995-96 when surrendering a substantial points advantage to the Old Trafford club, and Keegan quit in 1997. Kenny Dalglish took them to a second successive Premiership runners-up spot, and there were two successive losing FA Cup finals (1998, 1999) as Ruud Gullit, Sir Bobby Robson and Graeme Souness all had spells in the hot seat. Now Glenn Roeder is the incumbent, but handicapped by the retirement of all-time top scorer and Tyneside hero Alan Shearer and long-term injury to fellow-striker Michael Owen. The arrivals of Damien Duff and Obafemi Martins have added some excitement, but the Magpies remain vulnerable in the heart of their defence, and until that is addressed, silverware may remain elusive. This dearth of success is in stark contrast to a century ago. Newcastle were dominant in the Edwardian Age. Before then they had a somewhat complicated history. A club called Stanley was formed in 188, changing its name to Newcastle East End in October 1882 to avoid confusion with two other local clubs - Stanley Nops and Stanley Albion. Then another local club, Rosewood, merged with them. Meanwhile Newcastle West End had been formed in 1882. They played on part of the Town Moor, moving via Brandling Park to St James' Park (the home of Newcastle Rangers) in 1886. West End went out of existence and the remaining committee members invited East End to move to St James' Park. They accepted and, in 1892, changed their name to Newcastle United. A year later they were elected to the Second Division of the Football League along with Woolwich Arsenal, coincidentally their first League opponents. By 1898 they were in the top flight, and in 1905, 1907 and 1909 they were celebrating League championship titles on Tyneside, with a first FA Cup triumph in 1910. There was another League title in 1927 and an FA Cup in 1932, then three FA Cup triumphs in the 1950s when he legendary centre-forward Jackie Milburn was in his prime. Now the Toon Army awaits the modern-day successors to that Milburn-inspired side.
Most Discussed
Top Scorers
Player Goals Penalties
Loïc Remy Loïc Remy
Newcastle United
13 0
Yoan Gouffran Yoan Gouffran
Newcastle United
7 0
Papiss Cissé Papiss Cissé
Newcastle United
4 1
Hatem Ben Arfa Hatem Ben Arfa
Newcastle United
3 1
Moussa Sissoko Moussa Sissoko
Newcastle United
3 0