thumbnail Hello,

The 65-year-old was left dumbstruck by two decisions that went against the Rs as they fell to their second successive defeat, although Steve Clarke believed Chris Foy was correct

By Jay Jaffa at Loftus Road

QPR manager Harry Redknapp has hit out at referee Chris Foy after two crucial decisions went against the struggling side in their 2-1 defeat to West Brom.

Redknapp felt that Marc-Antoine Fortune fouled Rob Green before the goalkeeper parried the ball into his own net to double the visitors' advantage after Chris Brunt's opening goal.

Djibril Cisse pulled one back for the west London club but the 65-year-old was further incensed after Liam Ridgewell appeared to handle Stephane Mbia's header in the penalty box.

"They were awful decisions," Redknapp told reporters. "The referee got them completely wrong. How do you not see the penalty at the end? The hand is up there and it's headed from a couple of yards away.

"It was the most blatant handball you could wish to see. I said to the linesman 'how did you not see that?' He said 'it was murky down in that corner'. I thought maybe he should go to Specsavers.”

On Fortune's challenge on Green, he added: "It's a blatant foul. I hate moaning about decisions – I never do that, I don't slag refs off or moan about decisions. Once a year I have the hump with a ref, I don't knock on their door, but that today was poor.

"Two vital decisions that would have been so important for us. How we didn't get a result... we battered them at the end, just couldn't get a break, hitting people on the line. If you can look at that and say they're sixth and we're bottom you can't see the difference in class.

"Of course I expect a free kick. How can the goalkeeper play a ball when the striker is backing into him over the line? What do you do?

"You can't push him over, because you give away a penalty. You can't get to the ball, he's got no intention of playing the ball. His only intention is to stop you getting the ball, that's obstruction."

West Brom boss Steve Clarke, however, defended both decisions after his side sealed back-to-back wins for the first time since November.

"It hit Liam on the hand, he headed it from a yard away from him," Clarke said of the late handball appeal. "If it hadn't hit him in the hand it would have hit him in the face. The ball wouldn't have gone into the box anyway, it was the correct decision.”

Regarding Green's own goal, he continued: "I didn't think it was a foul. I saw it again on the video and I don't think Marc's done much wrong. Rob had a chance to get a punch on it and it's ended up in the net. I didn't think it was too much of a foul to be honest."

Related

From the web