Terry had claims for a first-half penalty turned down by referee Andre Marriner after coming into contact with Nelsen, but the New Zealand international insists not awarding a spot kick was correct.
"If you ask John, he just fell down," Nelsen told reporters. "He fell. I was holding him, of course, but he just fell down.
"He does it to everybody in their box. I said to him, ‘That was a bit embarrassing, John’, and he laughed when he ran off. He didn’t say anything – he was too embarrassed, I think!
"It happens all the time. You watch him fall – that’s life. Fortunately it didn’t work. The ref was smart enough to see it.
"He was nowhere near the ball, was never going to win it, so he just fell down. He was just trying to get a penalty and trying to get something for his team to win. I wouldn’t make anything out of it."