Africa begins journey to Brazil 2014 World Cup qualification

Twenty-two of Africa's lowest ranked teams will be taking part in play-off matches over the next week in order to determine the eleven teams which will continue in qualification
The selection process for the continent's five representatives for the Brazil 2014 Fifa World Cup begins on Friday with the first leg matches of the preliminary round of the qualifying series.

A total of 22 teams will be involved in this weekend's matches as the battle for places at the next World Cup moves into gear. The matches promise to be full of excitement despite the absence of the big giants, who have drawn a bye in the initial phase of the qualifying campaign.

Of the participating teams, DR Congo, formerly Zaire and Togo DR Congo have had previous experiences at the World Cup; DR Congo in 1974 and Togo in 2006, both in Germany.

Both teams will begin their campaign away from home.

The Leopards will face Swaziland in Lobamba while Togo lock horns with Guinea-Bissau in Bissau. After missing out on the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations, both DR Congo and Togo are under pressure to improve their recent performances.

Islanders Seychelles will battle it with Kenya in Roche Caiman, Comoros against Mozambique in Mitsamiouli whilst Eritrea face-off Rwanda in Asmara.

In Malabo, 2012 Africa Cup of Nations co-hosts Equatorial Guinea will welcome Islanders Madagascar in an encounter which will serve a preparatory test for Henri Michel's team ahead of the next year's continental flagship event.

Elsewhere in Sao Tome, the Red Devils of Congo will be away to Sao Tome and Principe whereas Djibouti will sort things out with Namibia in Djibouti.

Chad will be at their favourite Stade Nacional in N'djamena against Tanzania whilst Lesotho slugs it out with Burundi in Maseru.

On Saturday, November 12, Somalia will face fellows Ethiopia in Djibouti. The second leg matches will take place on November 15 and 16.


November 11
Seychelles v Kenya
Guinea Bissau v Togo
Djibouti v Namibia
Comoros v Mozambique
Equatorial Guinea v Madagascar
Lesotho v Burundi
Eritrea v Rwanda
Swaziland v DR Congo
Sao Tome and Principe v Congo
Chad v Tanzania

November 12
Somalia v Ethiopia (in Djibouti)