thumbnail Hello,

The win gave the Jangwani club their third title in the last four seasons.

Yanga FC were yesterday crowned the winners the 2010/11 Vodacom Premier League after dethroning their bitter rivals and defending champions Simba SC on goal difference.

For the first time in many years, defending champions Simba and Yanga went into the final day of the top flight league tied on 46 points, but the latter pinched the title on a one goal difference over their rivals.

Yanga beat Toto Africa 3-0 while Simba also annihilated relegated Majimaji 4-1 at the National Stadium, but a penalty missed a few minutes before the end dealt them a big blow.

Ugandan import Emmanuel Okwi, who was the hero in the early stages, turned villain after uncharacteristically fluffing the spot kick that could have made the difference. Yanga, having accumulated 49 points, took their goal difference to 25, one ahead of their archrivals.

The new champions scored their goals through Davies Mwape who hit a brace and Nurdin Bakari to book their place in next season's African Champions League. Sam Timbe's men, who trailed Simba for long spells of the season, boast a record 22 titles compared to Simba's 16 since the league started in 1965.

Simba’s goals were scored by Mkina and Okwi added the second. Mbwana Samatta added the third and Okwi finished the haul minutes later.

Follow on . Get the latest football news direct... Check out's  page; be part of the best football fan community in the world!